Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Billy Joel Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 180g 3LP Box Set

Billy Joel

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 3-418
Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 180g 3LP Box Set!
Mastered from the Original Master Tapes for the First Time: Unsurpassed Sound!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

23-Times Platinum Collection Among the 20 Best-Selling Albums in History

All of Joel's Peak-Era Hits In One Place

26-Track Set Includes Standards Such as "Piano Man," "It's Still Rock and Roll to Me," "Pressure," "Allentown," "Uptown Girl," and Many More

It's the third best-selling record in American history. It contains nearly every one of Billy Joel's peak-era chart hits as well as a smattering of fan favorites. It encapsulates exactly why the singer-songwriter-pianist remains one of the most beloved, commercially successful, relentlessly creative, and oft-referenced artists in music. Spanning 1973 to 1985, Joel's Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II functions as a hand-guided tour through pop, rock, doo-wop, blues, R&B, blue-eyed soul, and chamber jazz. It is rivaled by few—if any—other compilations.

Mastered from the original master tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, Mobile Fidelity's pristine reissue of this ubiquitous classic finally does justice to the Hall of Fame caliber music. Part of the label's restoration of Joel's most crucial releases, Greatest Hits Volume I & Volume II literally takes on new life. Devoid of the flatness, squelched dynamics, and limited soundscapes that defined previous versions, the collection brings Joel's genius and intentions into a more transparent light.

Is it any wonder that this double set has moved more than 23 million copies to date? No. All told, 20 Top 40 singles line up alongside six album-track favorites, the songs all instantly recognized by name. This is touchstone material that's long crossed over into multiple generations of listeners and eradicated genre boundaries, and formed the basis of Joel's constantly sold-out concerts for the past two-plus decades.

As demonstrated on diverse fare ranging from "Piano Man" to "The Stranger", "Big Shot" to "Uptown Girl", and the pair of then-new tracks ("You're Only Human (Second Wind)" and "The Night Is Still Young"), Joel always succeeds in wrapping his head around rich swaths of American pop, his music stopping by way of New Orleans, Kansas City, Memphis, Chicago, and other milestone cities.

The singer's simple, yet disarmingly effective lyrics speak to universal truths and uplift. Joel's melodic flair does the rest, filling out tunes with comprehensive arrangements, towering harmonies, and a swift sense of purpose. His catalog testifies on behalf of unimpeachably ovational songwriting and execution. Experience all his hits in heart-rustling fidelity. They, and you, have waited long enough for such an intimate encounter.

• 180g 3LP Box Set
• Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition of 3000 Copies
• Mastering by Krieg Wunderlich, assisted by Rob LoVerde at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
• Mastered from the Original Master Tapes on the Gain 2 Ultra Analog System
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 180 grams of High Definition Vinyl at RTI
• Special Static Free - Dust Free Inner Sleeve
• Heavy Duty Protective Packaging

Side One:

1. Piano Man
2. Captain Jack
3. The Entertainer
4. Say Goodbye To Hollywood
Side Two:
1. New York State Of Mind
2. The Stranger
3. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
Side Three:
1. Just The Way You Are
2. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
3. Only The Good Die Young
4. She's Always A Woman
Side Four:
1. My Life
2. Big Shot
3. Honesty
4. You May Be Right
5. It's Still Rock And Roll To Me
Side Five:
1. Don't Ask Me Why
2. She's Got A Way
3. Pressure
4. Allentown
5. Goodnight Saigon
Side Six:
1. Tell Her About It
2. Uptown Girl
3. The Longest Time
4. You're Only Human (Second Wind)
5. The Night Is Still Young

Customers Also Like