Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WB Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Captain Beefheart Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972 180g 4LP Box Set

Captain Beefheart

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 4LP Collection!
Cut from the Original Analog Masters!

This 180g 4LP Collection brings together newly remastered versions of "Lick My Decals Off, Baby" from 1970 and 1972's "The Spotlight Kid" and "Clear Spot." This is the first time this music has been remastered. The fourth LP contains outtakes including early mixes, alternate, and instrumental versions of previously unreleased material.

Lick My Decals Off, Baby is the fourth album by Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band, released in 1970 on Frank Zappa's Straight Records label. The follow-up to Trout Mask Replica (1969), it is regarded by some critics and listeners as superior, and was Van Vliet's personal favorite. Don Van Vliet said that the title is an encouragement to "get rid of the labels," and to evaluate things according to their merits rather than according to superficial labels (or "decals").

The Spotlight Kid is the sixth album by Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) and the Magic Band, originally released in 1972. It is the only album formally credited solely to Captain Beefheart. Often cited as one of the most accessible of Beefheart's albums, it is solidly founded in the blues but also uses instruments such as marimba and jingle bells that are not typical of that genre.

Clear Spot is the seventh album by Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band, originally released on LP in 1972.

"It's all prime Beefheart. The band is always in sync, Don's voice sounds great (as does his harmonica playing), and it's all got that unique rhythmic sense. The bonus material doesn't disappoint either. It's all from the Clear Spot and Spotlight Kid sessions and sounds fantastic...They make this set pretty close to essential for longtime fans (as if the fantastic sound weren't enough). " -Sean Westergaard,

• Limited Edition Box Set
• 180g Vinyl
• 4LP Set
• Cut from the original analog masters
• Fourth LP contains previously unreleased outtakes and rarities
• Liner notes by Rip Rense
• Artwork by Don Van Vliet

LP 1 - Lick My Decals Off, Baby

1. Lick My Decals Off, Baby
2. Doctor Dark
3. I Love You, You Big Dummy
4. Peon
5. Bellerin Plain
6. Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop
7. Japan in a Dishpan
8. I Wanna Find A Woman That’ll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
9. Petrified Forest
10. One Red Rose That I Mean
11. The Buggy Boogie Woogie
12. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)
13. Space-Age Couple
14. The Clouds Are Full Of Wine (Not Whiskey or Rye)
15. Flash Gordon’s Ape

LP 2 - The Spotlight Kid
1. I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby
2. White Jam
3. Blabber ‘n Smoke
4. When It Blows Its Stacks
5. Alice In Blunderland
6. The Spotlight Kid
7. Click Clack
8. Grow Fins
9. There Ain't No Santa Claus On The Evenin ‘Stage
10. Glider

LP 3 – Clear Spot

1. Low Yo Yo Stuff
2. Nowadays A Woman’s Gotta Hit A Man
3. Too Much Time
4. Circumstances
5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
6. Sun Zoom Spark
7. Clear Spot
8. Crazy Little Thing
9. Long Neck Bottles
10. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles
11. Big Eyed Beans From Venus
12. Golden Birdies

LP 4
1. Alice In Blunderland (Alternate Version)
2. Harry Irene
3. I Can't Do This Unless I Can Do This / Seam Crooked Sam
4. Pompadour Swamp / Suction Prints
5. The Witch Doctor Life (Instrumental Take)
6. Two Rips In A Haystack / Kiss Me My Love
7. Best Batch Yet (Track - Version 1)
8. Your Love Brought Me To Life (Instrumental)
9. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 1)
10. Nowadays A Woman’s Gotta Hit A Man (Early Mix)
11. Kiss Where I Kain’t
12. Circumstances (Alternate Vesion 2)
13. Little Scratch
14. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 3)

Customers Also Like