Dustin O'Halloran Silfur 2LP

Dustin O'Halloran

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

New Pieces & Reimagined Earlier Works On Double LP!

Award-winning American pianist and composer Dustin O'Halloran is one of the most successful composers of the film music landscape of our time (Lion, Transparent, The Old Guard, Marie Antoinette and many others). In addition, he has been successful worldwide for years together with Adam Wiltzie and the mutual ambient duo A Winged Victory For The Sullen.

Silfur is inspired by the relationship between music and time. Dustin O'Halloran undertook an exciting musical journey into the past and recorded a delightful selection of his early piano solo pieces, some of which are also provided with new soulful string arrangements, in special places in Iceland with which he is close and feels connected. For example, in the old wooden Fríkirkjan Church in Reykjavík. Here he played his first Icelandic concert with Jóhann Jóhannsson and Hauschka when he visited the country for the first time. This closes the circle of time. He also adds two completely new compositions to his unmistakable, emotional piano pieces of timeless atmospheric beauty.

"As a composer," says Dustin O'Halloran, "we keep track of time: that's what music makes. But time is fluid; it does not preserve music. It is experienced anew and changes. I experience time in a different way: I connect with my younger self, but now - in the present - and through this I bring something into the music."

The title of the album - Silfur - is chosen after the Icelandic Silfurberg crystal - translated as Silberfels. Its unique property is to refract light twice: objects appear doubled. "It does with the light exactly what I feel at the time," explains O'Halloran. "It splits it into two parts, but at the same moment: the present and the past."

A captivating album that brings Dustin O'Halloran's atmospheric music to a level that can stand the test of time.


  • Double LP
  • Made in Germany


Dustin O'Halloran piano
Siggi String Quartet
Bryan Senti
Gyða Valtýsdóttir cello


Side A:

  1. Opus 56 (Brand New Composition)
  2. Opus 28 (feat. Siggi String Quartet)
  3. Opus 44
  4. Opus 18

Side B:

  1. Opus 17
  2. Opus 55 (feat. Bryan Senti)
  3. Opus 12
  4. Fine

Side C:

  1. Opus 20
  2. Opus 7
  3. Opus 30
  4. Opus 17 (String Quartet Version) [feat. Siggi String Quartet]

Side D:

  1. Opus 21
  2. Opus 37 (feat. Siggi String Quartet)
  3. Constellation No. 2 (feat. Gyða Valtýsdóttir, cello) [Brand New Composition)

Customers Also Like