Eduard Melkus H.I.F. Biber - Sonatas Of The Rosary 180g Import 2LP

Eduard Melkus

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Classical

180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl Double LP!
Mastered From Original Analogue Masters Of Universal Music!
Audiophile Analog Mastering By Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios!
Pressed at Pallas!

Violinist Eduard Melkus performs Sonatas Of The Rosary, recorded March 17-23 1967, accompanied by Hans-Jurg Lange (bassoon), Gerald Sonneck (cello, viola da gamba), Huguette Dreyfus (harpsichord), Karl Scheit (lute), Lionel Rogg (organ) and Alfred Planyavsky (double bass).

"There is, as far as I know, nothing in the violin literature quite comparable to these incredibly imaginative, relentlessly intense pictorial essays by Heinrich Franz Biber (1666-1704), that still only half-known Salzburg Kapellmeister who plunged with an almost Joycean intellect into the task of delineating the Mysteries of the Rosary in musical outline... Any way you look at it, these sonatas are an experience; one is apt to forget, over a long period of time, just how remarkable - even exhausting - they are. The Melkus performance, a bit more assertive and tending towards brisker tempos, also offers a strong temptation to the buyer. For the con-tinuo part it employs the six instruments listed above. in varying combinations, and in certain sonatas it seems to me that the handling of continuo is more successful - that is, more aggressively set forth - in the new set. Melkus is tremendously skilled and forthright, and his work is exciting. These qualities are evident too in his playing of the solo Passacaglia, a relatively simple example of the form which nonetheless manages to hold you fast. Sound is superb-spacious and clean." - High Fidelity


  • 180g Audiophile Virgin Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Mastered From Original Analogue Masters of Universal Music
  • Audiophile Analog Mastering By Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios
  • Pressed at Pallas Group GmbH in Germany
  • Analogphonic recording
  • Gatefold jacket
  • 6-panel insert


Eduard Melkus violin
Hans-Jürg Lange bassoon
Gerald Sonneck cello, viola da gamba
Huguette Dreyfus harpsichord
Karl Scheit lute
Lionel Rogg organ
Alfred Planyavsky doublebass


Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644-1704)
Sonatas Of The Rosary

Side 1:
  1. Sonate I
  2. Sonate II
  3. Sonate III
  4. Sonate IV
  5. Sonate V
Side 2:
  1. Sonate VI
  2. Sonate VII
  3. Sonate VIII
  4. Sonate IX
Side 3:
  1. Sonate X
  2. Sonate XI
  3. Sonate XII
  4. Sonate XIII
Side 4:
  1. Sonate XIV
  2. Sonate XV
  3. Passacaglia G-Moll für Violine Solo

Customers Also Like