Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Elektra
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Joni Mitchell Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced Numbered Ltd Ed 180g 8LP Scratch & Dent

Joni Mitchell

$139.49 $174.99
(You save $35.50 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
All boxes have spine splits. Discs inside are undamaged.

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the May/June 2019 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 8LP Box Set!
First Time On Vinyl! Limited To 5000 Copies!
A New Collection About Love (And The Lack Of It) Curated by Joni Mitchell!

Joni Mitchell-Curated 8LP Collection Featuring 53 Newly Remastered Songs Recorded Throughout Her Landmark Career That Evoke Her Vision Of Love

LOVE HAS MANY FACES: A QUARTET, A BALLET, WAITING TO BE DANCED was first conceived as the music to a ballet about love. But after spending 18 months trying to distill everything she'd written about love—and the lack of it—down to a single disc, Mitchell abandoned the ballet. "I wanted the music to feel like a total work—a new work. No matter what I did, though, at that length, it remained merely a collection of songs," she wrote in the liner notes to the set. Undaunted, Mitchell did not give up. Instead, she continued to sequence her songs, determined to prove to herself that what she was after was possible. After two years, she had created a four-act ballet based on the 53 songs that make up this inspiring collection. "I am a painter who writes songs. My songs are very visual. The words create scenes… What I have done here is to gather some of these scenes (like a documentary filmmaker) and by juxtaposition, edit them into a whole new work," she explains.

LOVE HAS MANY FACES makes its vinyl debut on November 2, 2018. Limited to 5,000 individually numbered copies, the set is presented in a hard-bound deluxe folio package. It includes 53 songs on eight 180-gram LPs. Etchings of Mitchell's artwork are featured on four individual album sides, each one signifying the end of an act in the ballet. It truly is an artist-curated collection. Mitchell selected the material from 40 years of recording. She designed the package, which includes a book containing 53 lyrical poems, six paintings, and an autobiographical text illuminating her recording process. It is funny, mystical, and informative.

Mitchell organized the music into different thematic acts, which allowed her songs to interact with one another in a whole new way. The process, she says, was a lot like making a film. "I had forty years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form. Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before—crammed into one disc—themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there…When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet—a quartet. I also had a box set."

Longtime listeners should find the music familiar but fresh. Newcomers have an adventure before them—a journey into highly-original, harmonically innovative, unusually rhythmic music. Some of the greatest musicians in the world are gathered here—supporting this emotionally charged exploration of love's many faces.

"This compilation leans slightly toward her 80s-and-later work (about half her studio discography) and includes reinterpretations of earlier material, which suggests that, looking back, the older and wiser Joni wins out. Note, however, that the final act offers, in Joni's words, "a warm and friendly ending". Joni fans have long been blessed with good sound, including three albums on the TAS Super LP list. The LHMF platters boast clean, open sonics with plenty of air, detail, and bloom. For someone who sings so beautifully, that's only fair." - Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, May/June 2019

• Individually Numbered Limited Edition of 5000
• 8LP Box Set
• 180g Vinyl
• First time on vinyl
• Hard-bound deluxe folio package
• 53 songs on 8 LPs
• 4 sides feature etchings of Joni Mitchell's artwork
• Book containing 53 lyrical poems, 6 paintings and an autobiographical text illuminating Mitchell's recording process

Act 1: Birth Of Rock 'N' Roll Days
Side A:

1. In France They Kiss On Main Street
2. Ray's Dad's Cadillac
3. You Turn Me On I'm A Radio
4. Harlem In Havana
5. Car On A Hill
Side B:
1. Dancin' Clown
2. River
3. Chinese Cafe / Unchained Melody
4. Harry's House / Centerpiece
Side C:
1. Shades Of Scarlett Conquering
2. Number One
3. The Windfall (Everything For Nothing)
4. Come In From The Cold
Side D:

Act 2: The Light Is Hard To Find
Side A:

1. Court And Spark
2. Not To Blame
3. Nothing Can Be Done
4. Comes Love
5. Trouble Child
Side B:
1. No Apologies
2. Moon At The Window
3. Blue
4. Tax Free
5. The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
Side C:
1. Hana
2. Hejira
3. Stay In Touch
4. Night Ride Home
Side D:

Act 3: Love Has Many Faces
Side A:

1. You're My Thrill
2. The Crazy Cries Of Love
3. Love Puts On A New Face
4. Borderline
5. A Strange Boy
Side B:
1. You Dream Flat Tires
2. Love
3. All I Want
4. Be Cool
Side C:
1. Yvette In English
2. Just Like This Train
3. Carey
4. The Only Joy In Town
Side D:

Act 4: If You Want Me I'll Be In The Bar
Side A:

1. Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
2. Two Grey Rooms
3. God Must Be A Boogie Man
4. Down To You
5. A Case Of You
Side B:
1. The Last Time I Saw Richard
2. Raised On Robbery
3. Sweet Sucker Dance
4. Lakota
Side C:
1. Cool Water
2. Amelia
3. Both Sides Now
4. My Best To You
Side D:

Customers Also Like