Nicola Conte Presents Cosmic Forest: The Spiritual Sounds Of MPS 2LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
A Spiritual Jazz Journey On Double LP!

Cosmic Forest takes us on a spiritual journey through the musical universe of Musik Produktion Schwarzwald (Black Forest Music Production), the most important German jazz label of the 1960's and '70s.

There are still little-known gems to discover within the MPS catalogue. For instance, Cosmic Forest curated by Nicola Conte. Cosmic Forest is a compilation that highlights some of the most compelling "spiritual jazz" recordings from 1965 to 1975. Conte, a world-renowned Italian musician and producer, as well as a passionate DJ and record collector, is a connoisseur of European jazz with an astounding ability to dig a little deeper when it comes to arranging such a compilation. In this case, he concentrated on the spiritual highpoints of the MPS catalogue, highlighting both well-known and obscure musical treasures, while connecting disparate pieces through a personal common thread. The choice of individual titles and the flowing character of their arrangement lend the album a quality of timelessness, while showcasing the breadth of the entire "cosmic jazz collection" within the MPS archives.

"Nicola Conte is an indefatigable crate digger and his finds are usually worth checking out. His series of Viagem compilations for London's Far Out label, collecting bizarrely wonderful bossa-nova singles made in Brazil in the 1960s, is a particular delight. And so is this trawl through the lesser-known backwaters of the MPS and SABA catalogues." - All About Jazz

• Double LP
• Compiled by Nicola Conte
• Liner notes by Ekkehart Fleischhammer
• Gatefold jacket
• Made in Germany

Side A:

1. The Third Wave - Maiden Voyage
2. Nathan Davis - Evolution
3. Dexter Gordon & Slide Hampton - A Day In Vienna
Side B:
1. Motihar Trio/Schweizer Trio/Schoof/Wilen - Yaad
2. George Gruntz - Djerbi
3. The Albert Mangelsdorff Quartet - Never Let It End
Side C:
1. Smoke - Shelda
2. MIchael Naura Quartet - Soledad De Murcia
3. The MPS Rhythm Combination & Brass - Timbales Calientes
Side D:
1. El Babaku - El Babaku
2. Hannibal And The Sunrise Orchestra - Revelation
3. Tony Scott And The Indonesian All-Stars - Burungkaka Tua
4. Dave Pike Set - Raga Jeeva Swara

Customers Also Like