Genre: Blues
Label: Capitol
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Professor Longhair Live On The Queen Mary 180g LP

Professor Longhair

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Blues Legend Live On 180g Vinyl LP!
Remastered in New Orleans with Foreword by Hugh Laurie!

Reissue of the live album by New Orleans blues giant Professor Longhair that was recorded at the release party for Paul McCartney and Wings' Venus and Mars.

First released in 1978, the album was recorded on the cruise ship on March 24, 1975, while the vessel was docked in Long Beach, California. The recording is a prime example of the work of an artist whose influence in New Orleans music was felt by such fellow greats as Fats Domino, Allen Toussaint and Dr. John. Born Henry Roeland "Roy" Byrd on December 19, 1918, "Fess" died on January 30, 1980. Highlights of the performance, and the newly-restored album, include "Mess Around", standards such as "Stagger Lee", "‘Everyday I Have the Blues" and "I'm Movin' On", and Professor Longhair's own trademark favorites "Mardi Gras in New Orleans" and "Tipitina". The reissue contains a foreword by actor, pianist and Professor Longhair aficionado Hugh Laurie, who writes "…that live version of 'Tipitina,' oh sweet Lord. If the record had nothing else on it, it would still be a treasure beyond price."

"Roy Byrd's pianistic intricacies--which inspired Fats Domino, Huey Smith, Allen Toussaint, Dr. John, and other New Orleans luminaries--come through better on this live recording than on Atlantic's '50s compilation. This I credit to the hazardously busy (and uncredited) bass-and-drums accompaniment, which provides enough movement down below to allow Prof to really get rolling up top. Blues backup isn't supposed to work that way, but these guys get away with it, and good for them. P.S. Prof sings off-key a lot. P.P.S. It doesn't matter--sometimes it's even cute." - Robert Christgau

"Ask what was Paul and Linda McCartney's most important contribution to music, and you just might get the answer -- this album, which is also more exciting than anything Wings ever did. Professor Longhair's first live recording came about at a March 24, 1975 party hosted by the McCartneys aboard the Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA. It captures some of the excitement that Ahmet Ertegun and several lesser-known talent scouts found when they came upon Harry Roeland Byrd playing road houses around New Orleans in the late 1940s. Highlights include the rollicking 'Mess Around,' and the standards 'Stagger Lee,' 'Everyday I Have the Blues,' 'I'm Movin' On,' and his hits 'Mardi Gras in New Orleans' and 'Tipitina.' The lack of instrumental credits prevents one from praising the lead guitarist by name for his playing on 'Everyday I Have the Blues' and 'I'm Movin' On,' but he and the rest of the band still do well backing this legend." - AllMusic

• 180g Vinyl LP
• Recorded March 24, 1975 on The Queen Mary, Long Beach, California
• Remastered by Bruce Barielle at The Music Shed, New Orleans
• Vinyl cut by Jeff Powell at Sam Phillips Recording Service, Memphis
• Cover photo by Linda McCartney
• Foreword by actor, pianist and Professor Longhair aficionado Hugh Laurie

Professor Longhair, piano, vocals
Will Harvey, guitar
Robert Harvey, bass
Alfred Roberts, congas
Clarence Bell, drums

Side 1:

1. Tell Me Pretty Baby
2. Mess Around
3. Everyday I Have The Blues
4. Tipitina
Side 2:
1 .I'm Movin' On
2 .Mardi Gras In New Orleans
3. Cry To Me
4. Gone So Long
5. Stagger Lee

Customers Also Like