Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Charly
Size: 10"
Format: 33RPM,


Ray Smith Shake Around 10" Vinyl

Ray Smith

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Remastered From The Original Sun Tapes On 10" Vinyl!
The First 1000 Copies Pressed On Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl!

By the end of 1957, the rockabilly heyday of Sun Records was virtually over. Ray Smith's importance to the legacy of the label is that his first Sun session in January 1958 heralded the new era of rock 'n' roll. Despite recording a string of excellent rocking singles for Sun, commercial success eluded Smith. A year after a series of outstanding concert performances in the UK and Holland during 1978, Ray Smith died tragically due to a shooting accident on 29 November 1979.

Shake Around Includes "So Young", "Rockin' Bandit" and "Break Up", which he recorded several months before labelmate and friend Jerry Lee Lewis made it a hit single.

Newly-remastered from the original Sun tapes and pressed on audiophile-quality 10-inch vinyl with definitive career-spanning sleeve notes by Sun Records authority Adam Komorowski, the first 1,000 copies only are on yellow vinyl.

This third release in the Sun Rockabilly Legends Series has been personally overseen by Sun Entertainment Corporation president John Singleton in Nashville and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young and continues the long relationship between the companies begun by Shelby Singleton and Young almost 50 years ago.

Nobody wanted recognition more than Ray. He was totally wrapped up in what he was doing. There was never a dry thread on him after a show!
-Sam Phillips


  • 10" Vinyl
  • First 1000 copies pressed on Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl
  • Remastered from the original Sun tapes by Peter J Reynolds at Reynolds Mastering
  • Career-spanning sleeve notes by Sun Records authority Adam Komorowski
  • Sun Rockabilly Legends Series - Volum 3
  • Made in Germany


Side One:

  1. Breakup
  2. You Made A Hit
  3. Little Girl
  4. Rockin' Bandit
  5. Willing And Ready

Side Two:

  1. Right Behind You Baby
  2. So Young
  3. Shake Around
  4. Life Is A Flower
  5. Candy Doll

Customers Also Like