Genre: Jazz
Label: MPS Records
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Joachim Kuhn
Format: 33RPM,


Rolf Kuhn The Best is Yet To Come 9LP Box Set

Rolf Kuhn

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Coming July 16, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Limited Edition - 1000 Copies Worldwide!
9LP Box Set!
Newly Mastered For Vinyl!

With the help of Rolf Kühn, MPS has put together this limited box set to celebrate the 90th birthday and the life of a true jazz icon. The box contains a selection of Rolf Kühn's MPS albums as well as a new and exclusive vinyl with live recordings from the '60s - all newly mastered for vinyl. Furthermore, a 12-page box-sized booklet is included.

The box set is limited to 1,000 copies worldwide.

For a German jazz musician to find international recognition as a major player has been and remains a rarity. Clarinetist Rolf Kühn belongs to this elite class. And there are ample grounds for this: he is an exceptional artist on his instrument. No one sounds like him on the clarinet; warm, round and masterful, his tone remains unmistakable no matter what style he may be playing at any given moment. His play resonates with a maturity and wisdom gathered from a long and rich life of musical experiences. Kühn continues to be driven by an unbridled curiosity that compels him to continually stray from familiar paths and tried and true formulas. Yet equanimity and a sense of completeness are as intrinsic to his work as the daring and the adventure of risk-taking.

Rolf Kühn has absorbed the entire history of jazz. What began with a youthful fascination for swing eventually led him into the freest areas of improvisation, while maintaining an unerring sense of form and quality.

Kühn continues to explore contemporary horizons and dares to venture into new musical territory. In this way, he is like his younger brother, pianist Joachim Kühn. The two had already begun to play together when the 15-year older Rolf would visit his brother behind the Iron Curtain at Joachim's home in Leipzig. After Joachim made his escape to the West, the Kühn brothers gave a triumphant concert at the Berlin Jazz Days, followed by a performance at the Newport Jazz Festival. Two weeks later they were in New York City recording on the legendary Impulse! label with their festival quartet, which included Coltrane bassist Jimmy Garrison and drummer Aldo Romano. In 2012 Rolf and Joachim reconnected with Impulse! with their album "Lifeline", featuring bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade. The albums Rolf Kühn recorded for the MPS label in the 1970s are now among the milestones of the music, and have become coveted collector's items. The list of band members on these albums reads like a who's who of the last half-century. The music spans jazz, fusion, and the avant-garde, as Kühn engages with the crème de la crème. Alphonse Mouzon, Philip Catherine and Wolfgang Dauner, Michael and Randy Brecker, Chick Corea, Charlie Mariano and Dave Liebman, as well as such musical freethinkers as Lee Konitz, Albert Mangelsdorff and Ornette Coleman are among the musicians that join Kühn on the MPS sides.

Characterized by a deep affection and intuitive understanding for each other, Rolf Kühn's collaboration with brother Joachim is a constant that runs through his work. So it is not surprising that the two were jointly awarded for their life's work with the Jazz-Echo Prize in 2012 and the German Jazz Trophy in 2018.

Vitality and wisdom, maturity and brilliance - Rolf Kühn's music is his gift to his continually expanding intergenerational crowd of fans and admirers in the jazz world and beyond. His decades-long presence as a powerful creative force continues with no end in sight.


  • Limited Edition - 1000 Copies
  • 9LP Box Set
  • Exclusive Content
  • 12-page box-sized booklet
  • Newly mastered for vinyl
  • Original artworks
  • Slipcase
  • Made in Germany


The Rolf Kühn Group - Total Space (1975) - 1LP

  1. Uncle Archibald
  2. Buzz
  3. Lopes
  4. Total Space
  5. Miss Maggie

The Rolf Kühn Orchestra - Symphonic Swampfire (1979) - 1LP

  1. Swampfire Part 1
  2. Swampfire Part 2
  3. La Canal
  4. Just Call
  5. Judy

Rolf Kühn - Cucu Ear (1980) - 1LP

  1. One More Bass Hit (Dedicated To My Mother)
  2. Key-Alliance
  3. To Zbiggi
  4. Cucu Ear
  5. Beverly Hills Party
  6. Sultans of Jazz

Rolf Kühn Unit - Stereo (2015) (never released on vinyl before) - 1LP

  1. District 7
  2. Black Jasmine
  3. Q11
  4. Descendants
  5. Stereo
  6. Husky
  7. A Little Circus
  8. Shogun
  9. Open Windows
  10. Goodbye (For Buddy)

Rolf Kühn - Spotlights (2016 - never released on vinyl before) - 2LP

  1. Conversation One
  2. Pinnochio's Dream
  3. Pinnochio's Dance
  4. Don't Forget
  5. Choro Do Portina
  6. Broken City
  7. Laura
  8. Fingerprints
  9. A Strange Sunrise
  10. X-Ray
  11. Flip-Flop
  12. Autumn Leaves

Rolf Kühn - Yellow + Blue (2018 - never released on vinyl before) - 2LP

  1. Both Sides Now
  2. Angel Eyes
  3. Yellow And Blue
  4. Impulse
  5. The Second Time
  6. Train To Norway
  7. I'm Through With Love
  8. Conversation III
  9. Mela's Interplay
  10. Body And Soul
  11. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?

Rolf + Joachim Kühn - Berlin '66 / Newport '67 Live (2019 - exclusive to this box set) - 1LP

  1. Golem
  2. Chiarescuro
  3. Don't Run
  4. Flowers In the Dark
  5. The Sound of Cats
  6. Turning Point

Customers Also Like