Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Jagjaguwar
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Simon Joyner Beautiful Losers 2LP

Simon Joyner

$10.99 $14.99
(You save $4.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
The early 90's lo-fi explosion coincided with and was precipitated by the emergence of hundreds of small independent tape labels, many of which only existed long enough to release one compilation. It was during this heyday that Simon Joyner contributed some of his finest material to various intrinsically limited edition releases. Beautiful Losers: Singles and Compilation Tracks 1994-1999 collects all such compilation appearances and the few singles made during these years, including the perennial favorite "One for the Catholic Girls" and "Burn Rubber", recently covered by Bright Eyes.

This was such a prolific period for Joyner that he usually contributed his best songs of the moment to whoever requested a track, instead of reserving them for his proper albums. You'll find here varying degrees of sound quality and various approaches to songs, from solo acoustic to full band, but what ties the collection together is the strength of the material. This isn't filler. The same themes that haunt his large scale work are explored here: death, love, the politics of time. Fans of Joyner's albums can now stop searching for the impossible to find cassettes and out of print 7" records. We've compiled everything here, even the songs Simon would rather forget. For those unfamiliar with Simon Joyner's music, this compilation is a good place to start as it serves in the same capacity as the original compilations and 7" records, to introduce the ambivalent audience to the ambitious songwriter.

• Singles and Compilation tracks from 1994-1999
• Double LP

LP 1
1. Love Is Worth Suffering For
2. Fearful Man
3. Robin Hood
4. Jeff Engel Rules
5. Don't Begrudge a Man His Funeral
6. Milk
7. Sorrow Floats
8. Hotter Than Satan's Heels
9. Fluoride
10. Hold on to Your Breath
LP 2
1. Swing
2. R is for Riot
3. Hot Tears
4. I Would Not Try to Break Ties with Me
5. Last Night I Had a Conversation with God
6. Burn Rubber
7. Veteran's Hospital Song
8. Flannery O'Conner
9. Judas Blues
10. Is This How Generous You Are?
11. One for the Catholic Girls

Customers Also Like