Genre: Folk
Label: Six Shooter
Size: 10"
Format: 33RPM,


The Dead South Easy Listening for Jerks - Part 2 10" Vinyl EP

The Dead South

$14.99 $19.99
(You save $5.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Carter Family Meets Addams Family on 10" Vinyl EP!
Bluegrass Punk Covers of System of a Down, The Doors, Cold War Kids & Ween!

A rock band without a drummer, a bluegrass band without a fiddler. To the gentlemen of The Dead South, a self-styled 4-piece string band from Regina, Saskatchewan, it's about how, not what, you play. Their sound, built on a taut configuration of cello, mandolin, banjo and guitar, speeds like a train past polite definitions of acoustic music into the grittier, rowdier spaces of the bluegrass world.

Carter Family meets Addams Family in Easy Listening for Jerks, two covers EPs by the gold-certified prairie pickers. Rich with quality finger picking and replete with harmonies, Easy Listening for Jerks offers many new moods of songs you think you know so well. Under a title that recalls the songwriting humor of Roger Miller and Steve Martin's comedy stylings alike, the EPs offer a surprising and compelling mix of gravity and levity. Foggy Mountain Boys, but make it Beetlejuice.

Easy Listening For Jerks - Part 2 is inspired by the band's own pre-show playlist, and includes songs by System of a Down, The Doors, Cold War Kids, and Ween. The Dead South dust off "People Are Strange", with an entertaining video that puts an intergalactic spin on the song's theme of alienation. On "Chop Suey", not a no-brainer for an acoustic band without a drummer, the band transcends the song's metal origins and doubles up on Scott Pringle's vocals for a sound as big as the first. Part 2 also sees the vocal debut of banjoist Colton "Crawdaddy" Crawford, who offers a deadpan rendition of Ween's "Help Me Scrape the Mucus off My Brain".


  • 10" Vinyl EP
  • Black Vinyl
  • Covers EP - Volume 2
  • Mastered for Vinyl
  • Made in Czech Republic


Side A:

  1. Yahoos and Triangles (Intro)
  2. People Are Strange
  3. Chop Suey
  4. We Used to Vacation

Side B:

  1. Help Me Scrape the Mucus off My Brain
  2. Saturday Night
  3. 96 Quite Bitter Beings

Customers Also Like