Genre: Jazz
Label: ORG
Format: 45RPM,
Size: 12"


The Oscar Peterson Trio Night Train Low Numbered Limited Edition 180g 45rpm 2LP #10

The Oscar Peterson Trio

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out Of Print! Low Serial Number #10!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the February 2011 Issue of Stereophile!

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes! Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Oscar Peterson has thoroughly assimilated not just every piano style that preceded him but every ensemble idiom as well: swinging big bands, gospel, European classical, and, of course, the blues. Having mastered all of this, Peterson found the standard piano trio the perfect vehicle for exploring all of these types of music.  In this classic LP, the crowning achievement in his greatest year, Peterson doesn't just explore these styles - he conquers them.

"Many of the tunes like the familiar title tune, 'Night Train' (also known later as Duke Ellington's 'Happy Go Lucky Local') were first heard by most in big band arrangements that Peterson manages to re-invent without losing any of the color or even the dynamic shadings the larger ensembles more easily produced...the trio's virtuosity never fails to entertain." - Michael Fremer, analogplanet, Music 8/11, Sound 9/11

Oscar Peterson, piano
Ray Brown, bass
Ed Thigpen, drums

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• 180g Vinyl
• 45rpm
• Double LP
• Mastered by Bernie Grundman

1. Night Train
2. C Jam Blues
3. Georgia On My Mind
4. Bags' Groove
5. Moten Swing
6. Easy Does It
7. Honey Dripper
8. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
9. I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
10. Band Call
11. Hymn To Freedom

Customers Also Like