Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Pixies Doolittle 180g LP

The Pixies

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
The Absolute Sound 40th Anniversary Best Sounding Music!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 141/500!

The Pixies' released their third album Doolittle in the spring of 1989 and it instantly became their second classic album in a row. Unlike the diamond-in-the-rough nature of Surfer Rosa, produced by noise-rock's Steve Albini, Doolittle is instantly listenable and is the most widely popular Pixies album. Opening with the eyeball-slicing exploits and manic energy of "Debaser", the album scores song after song. Though not as abrasive as their previous record, Doolittle is every bit as quirky. One glance at the song titles will tell you that: "Debaser", "Wave of Mutilation", "Monkey Gone to Heaven". "Crackity Jones", etc. The standout songs include "Debaser", "Here Comes Your Man" (released as a single), "Monkey Gone to Heaven", "No. 13 Baby", and "There Goes My Gun". The more accessible sound of Doolittle along with the release of two videos to promote the singles established the Pixies as a minor player on the edge of the pop mainstream, while they kept their indie credibility. Doolittle is one of their finest efforts.

"Kurt Cobain himself acknowledged the Pixies' influence on the soft/loud dynamic that powered "Smells Like Teen Spirit." Doolittle is a mix of the band's earlier hardcore storms, Black Francis' self-described "stream of unconsciousness" rants and the strange melodicism that flowered in his Frank Black solo records." -

"Numerology, sludge in the ocean, a hole in the sky — what's it all supposed to mean? Said Francis (a.k.a. Frank Black), 'The phrase 'monkey gone to heaven' just sounds neat.' Norton [producer] cleaned up the band's sound, adding the eerie strings, but the Pixies didn't bother to try for pop appeal. Said Francis, 'It wasn't like we thought we'd get played on the radio.'" - Rolling Stone

Black Francis, vocals, guitars
David Lovering, drums
Mrs. John Murphy, bass, vocals
Joey Santiago, lead guitars

1. Debaser
2. tame
3. wave of mutilation
4. I Bleed
5. here comes your man
6. dead
7. Monkey gone to heaven
8. mr. grieves
9. crackity jones
10. la la love you
11. No. 13 Baby
12. there goes my gun
13. hey
14. silver
15. gouge away

Customers Also Like