Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sundazed
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Nico Lou Reed
Format: 33RPM,


The Velvet Underground The Verve/MGM Albums 5LP Box Set (Mono)

The Velvet Underground

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Deluxe 5LP Box Set!
Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
Pressed at RTI

At a time when the Rolling Stones were forbidden from singing about spending the night together on national television, the Velvet Underground was crafting songs about such taboo subjects as illegal drugs, sadomasochism and black angels of death. And that was just on their debut. Throughout their first three albums, VU continued to challenge societal norms through their lyrics and rock music itself through their unorthodox instrumental approach. Their sound was theirs alone, which proved to be an obstacle when it came to sales. The majority of popular music fans simply weren’t ready for the bleakly beautiful vision of VU. But for those who were, this LP trilogy was a clarion call, drawing together the outsiders who felt disenfranchised and unfulfilled by Top Forty fodder. Like time release capsules, these LPs became catalysts for change as they spread from city to city and were consumed by adventurous listeners. Bands formed, scenes coalesced and new musical paths emerged which would eventually branch off into punk, alternative, indie and more. Take a sample from any underground music genre and you’re likely to find VU DNA pulsing through its core.

As the alternative scene grew, so did the legend of the Velvet Underground. However, with relatively few of the original LPs in circulation, finding them could be difficult and, as a result, more people had probably heard OF the band than had actually heard their music. The emergence of compact discs in the mid-80s, along with a groundswell of VU-influenced bands singing their praises, finally got their music into wider distribution. Yet, for vinyl enthusiasts who longed to place those precious albums on their turntables, that thrill remained elusive.

With tremendous pride, Sundazed presents The Velvet Underground: The MGM/Verve Albums. This beautiful, deluxe boxed set gathers the rare mono versions of the band’s first three studio albums along with the superior mono version of Nico’s Chelsea Girl and a definitive edition of the band’s unfinished fourth album! Sourced from the original Verve/MGM analog reels and mastered by Bob Irwin, this collection is an essential purchase for the discerning vinyl devotee. For all tomorrow’s parties, this is your soundtrack.

"This is a box of essential Rock & Roll history: the first three studio albums by the Velvet Underground; a definitive edition of the recordings for the band's fourth, unfinished LP for MGM and the sublime, first solo album by Nico, released after the charismatic singer's brief spell in the group but made with the vital empathic aid of its leading men.

This is also a box of magic, the sight and sound of revolution as it arrived, at bold and perilous speed. No group embodied challegne and transgression in the mid- and late Sixties like the Velvet Underground. Few bands of any time have altered rock's future so decisively, at such a high price. Born in New York, into a true underground of art, film and social deviance, the Velvets were ignored, misunderstood, even savaged in their time. None of the four official releases in this set made it into Billboard's Top 100.

But, as Reed pointed out years later, 'Rock does this thing to you - you get directly to somebody, unfiltered.' The most important thing, he insisted, 'was the records going out, going to people.' This is how it happened, on long-playing vinyl, with striking, unprecendented cover art, between 1967 and 1969." - David Fricke

• Deluxe 5LP Box Set
• Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Pressed at RTI
• Sourced From Original Verve/MGM Analog Reels
• Mastered by Bob Irwin
• Rare mono versions of the VU's first three albums, the superior mono version of Nico's Chelsea Girl
• Unfinished fourth album (in stereo)
• Box with lift-off lid

The Velvet Underground & Nico (Mono)
Side 1:

1. Sunday Morning
2. I'm Waiting For The Man
3. Femme Fatale
4. Venus In Furs
5. Run Run Run
6. All Tomorrow's Parties
Side 2:
1. Heroin
2. There She Goes Again
3. I'll Be Your Mirror
4. The Black Angel's Death Song
5. European Son

Nico: Chelsea Girl (Mono)
Side 1:

1. The Fairest Of The Seasons
2. These Days
3. Little Sister
4. Winter Song
5. It Was A Pleasure Then
Side 2:
1. Chelsea Girls
2. I'll Keep It With Mine
3. Somewhere There's A Feather
4. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
5. Eulogy To Lenny Bruce

White Light/White Heat (Mono)
Side 1:

1. White Light / White Heat
2. The Gift
3. Lady Godiva's Operation
4. Here She Comes Now
Side 2:
1. I Heard Her Call My Name
2. Sister Ray

The Velvet Underground (Mono)
Side 1:

1. Candy Says
2. What Goes On
3. Some Kinda Love
4. Pale Blue Eyes
5. Jesus
Side 2:
1. Beginning To See The Light
2. I'm Set Free
3. That's the Story Of My Life
4. The Murder Mystery
5. Afterhours

1969 (the 'lost' fourth album) (Stereo)
Side 1:

1. Foggy Notion
2. One Of These Days
3. Lisa Says
4. I'm Sticking With You
5. Ocean
Side 2:
1. I Can't Stand It
2. I'm Gonna Move Right In
3. We're Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together
4. Rock And Roll
5. Ride Into The Sun

Customers Also Like