Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela Rejoice Special Edition 180g 2LP

Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Special Edition 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Featuring 8 Reimagined Bonus Mixes!

Rejoice is the classic collaboration between Tony Allen, the legendary drummer and co-founder of Afrobeat, and Hugh Masekela, the master trumpet player of South African jazz. The record, released to great acclaim in March 2020, became the first posthumous release from Masekela, and the last release from Allen, who sadly passed away a month later.

For this Special Edition, World Circuit have gone back to the original 2010 mixes and added previously unheard parts from the 2019 sessions to create 8 reimagined bonus mixes. The LP release also features a booklet with sleeve notes and photos.

Having first met in the '70s thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti, the two world-renowned musicians talked for decades about making an album together. When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in archive until after Masekela passed away in 2018. With renewed resolution, Tony Allen and Nick Gold, with the blessing and participation of Hugh Masekela's estate, unearthed the original tapes and finished recording the album in summer 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place.

Rejoice can be seen as the long overdue confluence of two mighty African musical rivers - a union of two free-flowing souls for whom borders, whether physical or stylistic, are things to pass through or ignore completely. According to Allen, the album deals in "a kind of South African-Nigerian swing-jazz stew", with its roots firmly in Afrobeat. Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland / The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.

It's like you're standing by Allen's drum kit as Masekela and the band play in front of you. As expected, Masekela's flugelhorn playing is brilliant, effortlessly bouncing off the rhythm section, with bass duties shared between Mutale Chashi and Tom Herbert. The latter is part of a strong Brit-jazz contingent that includes neglected sax player Steve Williamson, who interplays superbly with Masekela, especially on 'Agbada Bougou.' Singing and chanting in English, Yoruba, and Zulu give the record extra vim. It sums to a blend of bebop, Afrobeat, and, for me, even trip-hop in such tunes as 'Slow Bones' and 'Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony).' There is upbeat funk, as in 'Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same)' with its chants of the title, and 'Without Fela,' paying tribute to the late Fela Kuti - which perhaps epitomizes why this is such an uplifting record. There is loss, and passing, but hope continues. The spirit is renewed.
-Phil Brett, Stereophile Magazine, July 2020


  • Special Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • LP 1: Original 2020 album
  • LP 2: 8 reimagined bonus mixes featuring unheard parts from 2019 sessions
  • Booklet with sleeve notes & photos
  • Gatefold jacket with obi strip
  • Made in Germany


Original Album

Side A:
  1. Robbers, Thugs And Muggers (O'Galajani)
  2. Agbada Bougou
  3. Coconut Jam
  4. Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same)
Side B:
  1. Slow Bones
  2. Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
  3. Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
  4. We've Landed

Special Edition Bonus Mixes

Side C:
  1. Robbers, Thugs And Muggers (O'Galajani) (Cool Cats Mix)
  2. Agbada Bougou (Cool Cats Mix)
  3. Coconut Jam (Cool Cats Mix)
  4. Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same) (Cool Cats Mix)
Side D:
  1. Slow Bones (Cool Cats Mix)
  2. Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony) (Cool Cats Mix)
  3. Obama Shuffle Strut Blues (Cool Cats Mix)
  4. We've Landed (Cool Cats Mix)

Customers Also Like