Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Aerosmith Night In The Ruts 180g LP


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl! Remastered from the Original Source Tapes!

Night in the Ruts is the sixth album by American rock band Aerosmith, released on November 1, 1979, by Columbia Records. Joe Perry left the band midway through its recording. The album was initially produced at the Bands Warehouse/Rehearsal space by Jack Douglas who had produced Aerosmith's previous four albums, but later, Columbia Records brought in Gary Lyons to replace Douglas as the producer.

Recording of Night in the Ruts began in the spring of 1979, but when it was only halfway finished, the record label and management ordered the band to go out on tour in order to generate some revenue, as they had quickly burned through the budget allotted to them. This premature tour during the summer months pushed the album's release to late in the year. Even worse, substance abuse among the band members was getting worse and they started fighting among themselves. This led to a number of missed and sloppy live performances, finally culminating in a violent fight involving the band members and their wives. Joe Perry quit the band halfway through the tour. Prior to his departure, Perry had completed guitar parts for "No Surprize," "Chiquita," "Cheese Cake," "Three Mile Smile," and "Bone to Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy)." The guitar parts for the remaining songs were recorded by Brad Whitford, Richie Supa, Neil Thompson, and Jimmy Crespo (who later became Perry's official replacement from 1979-84).

"Bone to Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy)" is the most performed song from Night In The Ruts, with 144 performances. It received heavy rotation in the band's live setlist during the second half of the 1980s, but had largely been dropped by 1990. Also included on the album was a cover of "Think About It," a Yardbirds B-side from 1968 that Aerosmith had occasionally played live through the 70s and decided now to produce a recorded version.

Stylistically, Night in the Ruts marked an attempt to return to the straight hard rock sound of Toys In The Attic and Rocks after their previous album, Draw The Line took a slight divergence by adding keyboards and female backing vocals. The album is considered to mark a transition between the raw sound of Aerosmith's early years to the more polished, radio-friendly feel they would adopt in the following decade.

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered from the original source tapes

Steven Tyler
Joe Perry
Brad Whitford
Tom Hamilton
Joey Kramer
Jimmy Crespo

1. Remember (Walking In The Sand)
2. Reefer Head Woman
3. Cheese Cake
4. Mia
5. No Surprize
6. Three Mile Smile
7. Chiquita
8. Think About It
9. Bone To Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy)

Customers Also Like