Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Super Ego
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Aimee Mann Queens Of The Summer Hotel LP

Aimee Mann

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Original Songs Composed & Performed by Aimee Mann On Vinyl LP!

Aimee Mann started working on a musical based on the 1993 memoir 'Girl, Interrupted' by Susanna Kaysen, about the author's stay in a psychiatric hospital in the late 1960s. When the global COVID-19 pandemic put the project on hold, Aimee ended up going into the studio and recording all the songs for the musical herself. Her 10th studio album, Queens Of The Summer Hotel, is the result. The release is her first since her Grammy-winning 2017 album, Mental Illness.

Mann turns into a richly textured record, one that is deep in feeling and controlled in execution....The combination of the airiness of the arrangements and the warmth of Mann's performance is wistfully hopeful, turning Queens of the Summer Hotel into a record that soothes and consoles during moments of uncertainty.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine,, 4/5 stars (The AllMusic 2021 Year In Review - Best Of 2021)
What began as a commission to create a soundtrack for the stage adaptation of the cinematic masterpiece Girl Interrupted evolved into Aimee Mann's striking stand-alone album, Queens of the Summer Hotel, and in fact, one of the most emotive efforts of her career...Songs such as 'In Mexico,' 'Give Me Fifteen' and 'I See You' coast along with a supple sway, suggesting a more sedate scenario than the original screenplay otherwise implies. Consequently, it ranks with the best albums of Mann's nearly 40-year career. Expressive and emotive, it's a work that finds delicacy and diligence operating on equal footing.
-Lee Zimmerman, American Songwriter
It doesn't have the instant-classic pop of some of her earlier material, but as a more somber, measured collection of music, it's a winner. Even on 30-second throwaway transitional snippets like 'Checks,' her signature songcraft is recognizable...It may fall on the more mellow and restrained side of her catalogue, but this is a record to be savored - mining beauty (and yes, some humor) from pain is an Aimee Mann specialty, and this record serves as further testament to that fact. It's been nearly four decades since she founded 'Til Tuesday, but the musician has never sounded more confident.
-Alex McLevy, AV Club


  • Vinyl LP
  • Made in the Netherlands


Act I:

  1. You Fall
  2. Robert Lowell And Sylvia Plath
  3. Give Me Fifteen
  4. At The Frick Museum
  5. Home By Now
  6. Checks
  7. Little Chameleon
  8. You Don't Have The Room

Act II:

  1. Suicide Is Murder
  2. You Could Have Been A Roosevelt
  3. Burn It Out
  4. In Mexico
  5. Check (reprise)
  6. You're Lost
  7. I See You

Customers Also Like