Genre: Classical
Label: Analogphonic
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Eric Gritton
Format: 33RPM,


Alfredo Campoli Encores Vol. 1 & 2 180g LP

Alfredo Campoli

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Audiophile 180g Virgin Vinyl LP!
Mastered From Original Masters of Universal Music!
Pressed at Pallas!

Violinist Alfredo Campoli is accompanied by Eric Gritton for this recording of Encores by Schubert, Albeniz, Mendelssohn, Elgar, Debussy and more.

Combines 2 10" legendary encores recordings of Alfredo Campoli on single 12" record. (Decca LW5180 + LW5242)

"A succession of encore pieces, all played with the utmost enchantment; and with the three more sentimental show-stoppers isolated on side one - so that we have no need to break the mood unless we wish. In search of more athletic achievement, we can turn over; here I think perhaps the Albeniz Tango might have been a little less athletic, a little more sentimental (and how on earth does it take two people to arrange the Fiocco piece? - the credit reads almost like one of those committees that write the not-so-good pop songs). But the search for athleticism is rewarded so fully in The Bee, and for sentiment so fully in the Fibich, Ponce, and Drdla: this is indubitably how to play encores. And, bar a surely unnecessary tape-join in the Fibich, how to record them – a winning sound; and a sensible disposition of the whole on a medium-play. (for Vol.1)

"He combines a knowledge of such pieces with a matured classical technique as does no other violinist I can think of, and he plays the music with sympathy and affection and immense skill. The Drdla sounds quite ravishingly beautiful... and the recording is very good indeed. (for Vol..2)" - Gramophone

• Audiophile 180g Virgin Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas GmbH in Germany
• Audiophile analogue mastering by Rainer Maillard at Emil Berliner Studios in Berlin
• Mastered from the Original Masters of Universal Music
• Combines 2 10" records on one 12" vinyl LP
• Analogphonic release

Alfredo Campoli, violin
Eric Gritton, piano

Side A - Encores:

1. Poeme
2. Estrellita
3. Souvenir
4. Allegro
5. The Bee
6. Tango
7. Midnight Bells
Side B - Encores No. 2:

1. On Wings of Song
2. Valse Bluette
3. La Capricieuse
4. From The Canebrake
Traditional (arr. Heifetz)
5. Deep River
6. Minstrels
Foster (arr. Kreisler)
7. Old Folks At Home

Customers Also Like