Genre: Folk
Label: Stockfisch
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Allan Taylor Analog Pearls Vol. 6 - Win Or Lose 180g LP (DMM)

Allan Taylor

$19.99 $39.99
(You save $20.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Direct Metal Mastering Pressed On High Quality 180g Vinyl LP!

The idea to re-release Win Or Lose on Stockfisch Records came from Günter Pauler after I had sent him the original master-tape that I had found amongst my archive material. I thought he might be interested, mainly because the original quality of recording was so good. Furthermore, it fell within the parameters of quality that Stockfisch demand from all of their recordings, so we decided to go ahead with the idea, releasing it on the "Analog Pearls" series on vinyl and SACD.

How the original recording came to be; In the early '80s the standard of vinyl for LPs was bad, as most vinyl was re-cycled which meant it had inherent noise. I decided that the only way to make sure the recordings and pressings were of the quality I wanted was to form my own company, and "go it alone". I had compromised enough, and I decided that I would strive for perfection at every stage of producing an album. I chose the best studio in the north of England, the best cutting studio in Britain and the best pressing plant. When I contacted Nimbus about pressing my album, they said that they would only press records of Classical Music, to which I replied, I would pay whatever their price was. Consequently, my album was the first non-classical record to be pressed by Nimbus.

We recorded and mixed the album from 7th to 13th of September 1984. Most of the recording was "live", with only the harmony vocals over-dubbed (apart from a few keyboard overdubs).

It is almost forty years since that original recording, and although much has changed as regards recording techniques and equipment, I hope the songs have stood the test of time, and you, the listener, will enjoy the result. - Allan Taylor, 2020


  • Heavy Weight High Quality 180g Vinyl LP
  • Direct Metal Master Cut Vinyl
  • Transferred from the original reel-to-reel tape
  • Premastering by Hans-Jorg Maucksch
  • DMM disc cutting by Hendrik Pauler
  • Pressing at MY45, Germany
  • Total running time: 43:27


Allan Taylor vocal, guitar
Mike Silver backing vocals, guitar
Pete Glennon electric and double bass
Richie Close piano, Yamaha dx7, Prophet 5
Mike Timoney accordion, Yamaha dx7, Wave 2.2 with Waveterm


Side 1:

  1. Choose Your Time
  2. Crazy Amsterdam
  3. Piaf
  4. Angelina's Cantina
  5. Win Or Lose

Side 2:

  1. Syracuse And Albany
  2. Golden Island
  3. There Was A Time
  4. Now You Know
  5. The Dove
  6. The Rose And The Briar

Customers Also Like