American Banjo: Tunes & Songs in Scruggs Style LP

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
3-Finger Banjo Pickin' On Vinyl LP!
Remastered From Original LP Master Tapes in 1966!

Although there is debate among musicologists and banjo players as to who “invented” the three-finger style of five-string banjo playing, there is no disagreement that the style was popularized by Earl Scruggs in the late 1940s and early 1950s. The three-finger style enabled banjo players to play harmony and to solo on bluegrass tunes and songs. This 1957 release assembles examples of the three-finger style by bluegrass banjo players including Scruggs’ older brother Junie and Snuffy Jenkins, who may have had an influence on the style as well.

This vinyl reissue is part of Folkways Records’ 70th anniversary celebration series, revisiting some of the most iconic and influential albums released on the record label.

• Vinyl LP
• Remastered From Original LP Master Tapes in 1966
• Classic Folkways style tip-on jacket
• Descriptive note inside pocket

Side A:

1. Cacklin' Hen - Joe Stewart
2. John Henry - Snuffy Jenkins
3. Lonesome Blues - Snuffy Jenkins
4. Big Eared Mule - Snuffy Jenkins
5. Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star - Snuffy Jenkins
6. Spanish Fandango - Oren Jenkins
7. Cripple Creek - Oren Jenkins
8. Shout Lula - Oren Jenkins
9. Down the Road - Oren Jenkins
10. Old Hen She Cackled - Oren Jenkins
11. Sally Goodin / Sally Ann - Junie Scruggs
12. Wildwood Flower - Eugene Cox
13. Lonesome Road Blues - Veronica Stoneman Cox
14. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down - J.C. Sutphin
15. I Don't Love Nobody - J.C. Sutphin
16. Little Maggie - Larry Richardson
17. Sunny South - Larry Richardson
18. Buckin' Mule - Larry Richardson
19. Turkey In the Straw - Don Bryant
20. Jenny Lynn - Don Bryant
Side B:
1. Pig In A Pen - Smiley Hobbs
2. Train 45 - Smiley Hobbs
3. Rosewood Casket - Smiley Hobbs
4. Cotton Eye Joe - Smiley Hobbs
5. Irish Washerwoman - Pete Roberts
6. Cindy - Dick Rittler
7. Ruben's Train - Kenny Miller
8. Please Come Back Little Pal - Kenny Miller
9. Pretty Polly - Bob Baker
10. Ground Hog - Bob Baker
11. Jesse James / Hard, Ain't It Hard (Ain't It Hard To Love - Eric Weissberg

Customers Also Like