Genre: Christmas
Label: Island
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: African Children's Choir
Format: 33RPM,


Annie Lennox A Christmas Cornucopia 180g LP

Annie Lennox

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

10th Anniversary Edition Vinyl LP!
Featuring Brand New Track "Dido's Lament"!

10th Anniversary Edition from the Eurythmics vocalist, Annie Lennox. A Christmas Cornucopia is a collection of inspired interpretations of traditional festive songs, rounded out by a Lennox composition, "Universal Child". The 2020 re-issue of A Christmas Cornucopia features a brand new, previously unreleased track, "Dido's Lament", a new tracklisting, and new artwork.

"Dido's Lament" - written by Henry Purcell in the 17th century and arranged by Annie Lennox and Mike Stevens - references the tragic love story of Dido and Aeneas as documented in Virgil's legendary epic poem, The Aeneid, from the 1st century BC.

The music on A Christmas Cornucopia was mostly played by Lennox, in collaboration with co producer Mike Stevens, and originally recorded in his southwest London studio - at the bottom of his garden in 2010. But to achieve the resonance and vibrancy that were integral to Lennox's ideas for these re-energized reboots, the pair also worked with a 30-piece orchestra at Pinewood Studios. And they travelled further afield too: to South Africa, to record with the African Children's Choir, a remarkable organization with which impassioned campaigner and activist Lennox has long had a relationship.

A Christmas Cornucopia is far from a saccharine packaged selection box. As befits its title, it offers an abundant track listing drawn from British, French and German traditions covering the well-known alongside more untrodden ground. Its broad spectrum encompasses a wide range of narratives and emotions - from joyful and celebratory thorough melancholic and haunting to poignant and timely. On "Lullay Lullay", for example, Lennox draws direct links between the Nativity and the plight of Africa's child soldiers.

Vibrant but vintage, classic and contemporary, glorious but with a polemical edge, Annie Lennox's A Christmas Cornucopia is no ordinary collection of seasonal songs.


  • 10th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Fully remastered audio
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Updated anniversary cover art
  • Limited edition silver foil artwork
  • 12" booklet on premium paper
  • Brand new track "Dido's Lament"
  • Limited time download code
  • Made in Czech Republic


Side A:

  1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  2. The First Noel
  3. Il Est Ne Le Divin Enfant
  4. See Amid The Winter's Snow
  5. Silent Night
  6. Universal Child

Side B:

  1. Angels From The Realms Of Glory
  2. The Holly And The Ivy
  3. As Joseph Was A Walking (The Cherry Tree Carol)
  4. Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem
  5. Lullay Lullay (Coventry Carol)
  6. In The Bleak Midwinter
  7. Dido's Lament

Customers Also Like