Genre: Electronic
Label: Mute
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Arca Mutant 2LP (Red Vinyl)


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Arca's 2015 Sophomore Album on Red Vinyl Double LP!

Where Arca's critically acclaimed debut release Xen (2014) was introspective, Mutant is outwardly emboldened. Dedicated to and colored by the important people in Arca's life, Mutant illustrates the continuing mutations catalysed by loved ones: friends, family, acquaintances. Arca morphs for them and because of them. Both releases are contortionist shape-shifters, but where Xen asked us to meet her in her world, Mutant comes out to meet us in the light. Mutant is suggestively agape, embracing multiple sensualities with refreshing softness. Jesse Kanda's organic cover art, luminous where Xen's was shrouded, is a reflection of this.

In the artist's words: "Mutant is about sensuality and impulsiveness as escape routes out of rigidity. Softness as a weapon when the mind attacks itself." Mutations in the records' textures parallel the malleability of identity; tension is harmonized by openness and the inclusiveness of transformation. Pride is taken in deformity, innocence, distortion and vulnerability: traits often ostracized as undesirable. Themes that have animated Arca's work - tension, polarities, playfulness, eroticism, mutability - have been refracted into newer, more nuanced shades. Fluctuation, in-betweenness, intimacy and chaos are celebrated.

Mutant is released as a double LP set.

...a set of tracks that feels like a hard-won celebration of individuality....Mutant may be some of her most challenging work yet, but as Arca's music becomes more abstract, the viewpoint behind it comes into focus in ways that embrace strangeness, ugliness, and beauty equally.
-Heather Phares,, 4/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Red Vinyl
  • Triple Gatefold


Side A:

  1. Alive
  2. Mutant
  3. Vanity

Side B:

  1. Sinner
  2. Anger
  3. Sever
  4. Beacon
  5. Snakes
  6. Else

Side C:

  1. Umbilical
  2. Hymn
  3. Front Load
  4. Gratitud
  5. En
  6. Siren Interlude
  7. Extent

Side D:

  1. Envelopeped
  2. Faggot
  3. Soichiro
  4. Peonies

Customers Also Like