Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Domino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am That's What I Am Not LP

Arctic Monkeys

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 371/500!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the May 2006 Issue of Stereophile!

This is ARCTIC MONKEYS guvnor! The one. The one what we've all been waiting for.

The thing that's gonna make all them drunken nights and rows with the missus and daft conversations in sweaty clubs all make sense. The thing that's gonna make the indie kid dance like a knob next to the heavyweight skinhead and the shy girl whose sister went to your school.

This is the one that ya can stick on and sing out loud and mean every word…. cos it's all happened to ya, times many. The gangs who used to hang around in town: punks, teddys, mods or whatever are giving up and going home to become accountants or something. The invisible line in the sand that used to mean that the lot liked this type of thing, and the freaky looking kids are into this has been blown away. All that remains is a mixed bag of everything in the 21st century and this album soundtracks it perfectly.

Musically, there's musical bits of The Stone Roses, What's The Story Morning Glory and Nevermind. As catchy as those reference points are, it's the lyrics that have won Arctic Monkeys the fiercely dedicated crowd very quickly: a mix of the observational storytelling of Davies and Weller crossed with the harsher documentary eye of Mike Skinner of The Streets and "Ghost Town" era Specials.

Forget the hype, forget the lofty expectations and just enjoy the record.

1. The View From the Afternoon
2. I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor
3. Fake Tales of San Francisco
4. Dancing Shoes
5. You Probably Couldn't See the Lights, But You Were Staring Straight At Me
6. Still Take You Home
7. Riot Van
8. Red Light Indicates Doors are Secure
9. Mardy Bum
10. Perhaps Vampires is a Bit Strong But...
11. When the Sun Goes Down
12. From the Ritz to the Rubble
13. A Certain Romance

Customers Also Like