Genre: Jazz
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers The Jazz Messengers 180g 2LP

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the October 2011 Issue of Stereophile!

Audio Beat Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4/5 Sound!

180g Vinyl Double LP Remastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Blakey is joined by Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley, Horace Silver and Doug Watkins for this album of music recorded in New York City in 1956. This 180g Double LP reissue, remastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering at Lyndhurst Hall, London, contains five bonus tracks not issued on the original release.

"Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers is a vital part of jazz history. The sound has the rawness of the mono recordings of this period. Liner notes by George Avakian (1956) and Kenny Washington (1997) are informative and precise. Audiophiles and jazz enthusiasts should welcome this album to their collection." - Robbie Gerson,

"All of Analogue Productions' Nat "King" Cole releases go the extra mile. They come with well-done booklets that discuss in detail each album's history and the remastering wizardry responsible for their sonics." - Marc Mickelson,, 4.5/5 Music, 4/5 Sound!

• Limited Edition 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Audiophile Remastering
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket
• Five bonus tracks not on original release
• Remastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

Donald Byrd, trumpet
Hank Mobley, tenor sax
Horace Silver, piano
Doug Watkins, bass
Art Blakey, drums

LP1 - Side 1:
1. Infra-Rae
2. Nica's Dream
3. It's You Or No One
LP1 - Side 2:
1. Ecaroh
2. Carol's Interlude
3. The End Of A Love Affair
4. Hank's Symphony
LP2 - Side 3:
1. Weird-O*
2. Ill Wind*
3. Late Show*
LP2 - Side 4:
1. Deciphering The Message*
2. Carol's Interlude (alt take)*

*Bonus Tracks Not On Original LP

Customers Also Like