Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WB Rhino
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Babes in Toyland Fontanelle 180g LP

Babes in Toyland

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl of 1992 Release!

This 1992 release from Babes In Toyland was their first on a major label and also the first to feature Maureen Herman on bass. The group was formed in 1987 and consisted of Kat Bjelland, Lori Barbero, and Michelle Leon who was replaced by Maureen Herman in 1992. The all female group released three studio albums from 1989 and 1995 before going inactive in 1997. Fontanelle would become the most critically and commercially successful album for Babes in Toyland selling over 200,000 copies in the U.S. alone. This second studio album from the Minneapolis punk rockers includes the tracks "Bruise Violet" and "Bluebell."

"Babes in Toyland's most focused and powerful statement...its raw punkish fury and metallic grind making it the spiritual kin of L7...Like L7, Babes in Toyland are more about pure sound than songs, but the similarities end there. Instead of just grinding away on simple power chords, Kat Bjelland's distinctive guitar work is full of intentionally grating dissonance, which is complemented by the jittery rhythm section. Vocally, Bjelland can move from a faux little-girl coo to a bellowing snarl in the space of one line; put together, all of this imbues Fontanelle with a terrifically explosive tension... Measured by any standard, Fontanelle is a frighteningly primal record, one whose sheer ferocity Babes in Toyland never quite captured this convincingly anywhere else." -Steve Huey,

• 180g Vinyl

Side One:

1. Bruise Violet
2. Right Now
3. Bluebell
4. Handsome and Gretel
5. Blood
6. Magick Flute
7. Won't Tell
Side Two:
1. Quiet Room
2. Spun
3. Short Song
4. Jungle Train
5. Pearl
6. Real Eyes
7. Mother
8. Gone

Customers Also Like