Genre: Classical
Label: Analogphonic
Size: 12"
Composer: J.S. Bach
Format: 33RPM,


Bach 6 Suites for Unaccompanied Cello 180g Import 4LP Box Set

Daniil Shafran

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Audiophile 180g Vinyl 4LP Box Set!
Pressed at Pallas!

Cellist Daniil Shafran performs 6 Suites for unaccompanied cello by J.S. Bach recorded 1969-1974.

Daniil Shafran (1923-1997) was one of the world's best known concert cellists for many years. Many musicians consider him one of the most interesting phenomena of not only cello performing art but also the entire music culture of the 20th century. As many researchers note, Shafran's performance combined intellect and poetic inspiration, an impeccable taste and technique, in-depth interpretation of the author's idea and originality in revealing the contents of works.

"Shafran's interpretation of Bach's cello suites is marked by his original approach to the music of the great composer, his bold and novel rendition. The musician is a stranger to retrospection, false adherence to tradition and museum-like restoration of Bach's music as well as to its unwarranted modernization. Skillfully making use of the rich expressive potentialities of the cello, of subtle shades of bow “touche” and vibrato technique and dynamizing the dance element of the pieces, he utilized diverse strokes and accentuation, ranging from well nigh indistinguishable emphasis to sharp and forceful bowing. Shafran seems to translate the logical language of Bach’s music into the language of our time. In the cellist's rendition we hear not the Bach of the clavichord and thorough-bass period but Bach as read by a contemporary musician. And listening to Shafran's playing we perceive these works as music full of life and fervency." - I. Yampolsky

"Daniil Shafran is one of the highest level cellists by his performing manner, by his musical inclinations, and by the wealth and diversity of musical shades" - Carlo Zecchi

• Audiophile 180g Virgin Vinyl
• 4LP Box Set
• Analogue mastering from original masters of Firma Melodiya
• Audiophile mastering by Maxim Pilipov
• Pressed at Pallas Group GmbH in Germany
• Box with lift-off lid and obi strip

Daniil Shafran, cello

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Six Suites For Unaccompanied Cello, BWV 1007-1012
Side 1:
Cello Suite No. 1 G Major, BWV 1007

1. I. Prelude
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante
4. IV. Sarabande
5. V. Menuett 1, 2
6. VI. Gigue
Side 2:
Cello Suite No. 2 D Minor, BWV 1008

1. I. Prelude
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante
4. IV. Sarabande
Side 3:
1. V. Menuett 1, 2
2. VI. Gigue
Cello Suite No. 3 C Major, BWV 1009
3. I. Prelude
4. II. Allemande
5. III. Courante
Side 4:
1. IV. Sarabande
2. V. Bourree 1, 2
3. VI. Gigue
Cello Suite No. 4 E-Flat Major, BWV 1010
4. I. Prelude
5. II. Allemande
Side 5:
1. III. Courante
2. IV. Sarabande
3. V. Bourree 1, 2
4. VI. Gigue
Side 6:
Cello Suite No. 5 C Minor, BWV 1011

1. I. Prelude
2. II. Allemande
3. III. Courante
4. IV. Sarabande
Side 7:
1. V. Gavotte 1, 2
2. VI. Gigue
Cello Suite No. 6 D Major, BWV 1012
3. I. Prelude
4. II. Allemande
Side 8:
1. III. Courante
2. IV. Sarabande
3. V. Gavotte 1, 2
4. VI. Gigue

Recorded in 1970 (Suite No. 1) 1973 (Suite No. 2, 5) 1969 (Suite No. 3) 1974 (Suite No. 4, 6)

Customers Also Like