Genre: Jazz
Label: Elemental
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Barney Wilen French Ballads 180g 2LP

Barney Wilen

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

180g Vinyl Double LP!
Remastered From The 24-Track Analog Master Tapes!
Includes 4 Previously Unissued Alternative Takes!

"It's a different Barney Wilen, a different saxophone identity, that resounds on French Ballads. How could it be otherwise? More confident and complex. More comfortable and in tune with the musical progress since the 1950s: one can hear it in the unrushed freedom of his playing, in the flurries and embellishments he adds. The melodies and lyrics were as familiar to jazz ears as they were to a mainstream audience. Many were associated wtih popular movies, and together all were sure to ring a bell of national pride. It's a challenge to stop listing favorite moments on French Ballads - discovering this music on one's own should be part of the delight." - Ashley Kahn


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Recorded & mixed at Gimmick Studio, Yerres, France, on June 24-26, 1987
  • Remastered in 2021 by original sound engineer Herve Le Guil from the original 24-track analog tapes
  • 4 Bonus Tracks - previously unissued alternative takes
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Specially prepared essays by renowned jazz writers Ashley Kahn & Philippe Vincent, bassist Riccardo Del Fra, drummer Sangoma Everett & Patrick Wilen


Barney Wilen tenor & soprano sax
Michel Graillier piano
Riccardo Del Fra double bass
Sangoma Everett drums


Side A:

  1. L'âme des poètes
  2. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life
  3. Sous le ciel de Paris
  4. Syracuse
  5. Un été 42 (Summer Of '42)

Side B:

  1. My Way
  2. Les feuilles mortes (Autumn Leaves)
  3. Once Upon A Time
  4. Seule ce soir

Side C:

  1. Manoir de mes rêves
  2. Tears
  3. La vie en rose
  4. Les moulins de mon coeur

Side D:

  1. Syracuse - Bonus Track
  2. Un été 42 (Summer Of '42) - Bonus Track
  3. Les feuilles mortes (Autumn Leaves) - Bonus Track
  4. Seule ce soir - Bonus Track

Customers Also Like