Genre: Classical
Label: Stereophile
Composer: Beethoven



Robert Silverman

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Robert Silverman performs one of Beethoven's masterworks for piano, the Diabelli Variations, Op.120, recorded by Graemme Brown, with Ray Kimber, John Atkinson, Brett Terry.

In a world that sees wunderkinder of the piano come and go, Robert Silverman has reached a level of musical and technical authority that can be accomplished only after years of deep commitment to the instrument and its vast literature. Many aspects of Silverman's playing are frequently noted: a polished technique, an extraordinary range of tonal palette, an uncanny ability to sing his way into the heart of a phrase, and probing interpretations of the most complex works in the repertoire.

The distinguished Canadian pianist has performed in concert halls throughout North America, Europe, the Far East, and Australia. Under the batons of such renowned conductors as Seiji Ozawa, John Eliot Gardiner, Gerard Schwarz, Neeme Järvi, Sergiu Comissiona, Zdenek Macal, and the late Kiril Kondrashin, he has performed with orchestras on three continents, including the Chicago Symphony, the Sydney Symphony, the BBC (London) Symphony, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestras, and every major orchestra in Canada.

In 1998 Robert Silverman was named the first winner of the Paul de Hueck and Norman Walford Career Achievement Award for Keyboard Artistry, administered by the Ontario Arts Council Foundation, in recognition of "his high level of artistry, his moving interpretations of a wide range of music...and his commitment and contribution to music in Canada."

Robert Silverman, piano

Beethoven's Diabelli Variations
33 Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli in C Major, Op.120 (1819, 1822–23)

1. Theme: Vivace
2. Variation 1: Alla marcia maestoso
3. Variation 2: Poco allegro
4. Variation 3: L'istesso tempo
5. Variation 4: Un poco più vivace
6. Variation 5: Allegro vivace
7. Variation 6: Allegro ma non troppo e serioso
8. Variation 7: Un poco più allegro
9. Variation 8: Poco vivace
10. Variation 9: Allegro pesante e risoluto
11. Variation 10: Presto
12. Variation 11: Allegretto
13. Variation 12: Un poco più moto
14. Variation 13: Vivace
15. Variation 14: Grave e maestoso
16. Variation 15: Presto scherzando
17. Variation 16: Allegro
18. Variation 17: [Allegro]
19. Variation 18: Poco moderato
20. Variation 19: Presto
21. Variation 20: Andante
22. Variation 21: Allegro con brio. Meno allegro
23. Variation 22: Allegro molto (alla "Notte e girono faticar" di Mozart)
24. Variation 23: Allegro assai
25. Variation 24: Fughetta. Andante
26. Variation 25: Allegro
27. Variation 26: [Allegro]
28. Variation 27: Vivace
29. Variation 28: Allegro
30. Variation 29: Adagio ma non troppo
31. Variation 30: Andante, sempre cantabile
32. Variation 31: Largo, molto espressivo
33. Variation 32: Fuga. Allegro
34. Variation 33: Tempo di menuetto moderato
35. 32 Variations on an Original Theme in C Minor, WoO 80 (1806)

Total playing time, 68:03

Customers Also Like