Ben Webster Old Betsy: The Sound Of Big Ben Webster DMM 180g Import LP

Ben Webster

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Jazz Saxophonist On 180g Vinyl LP!
Direct Metal Master! Pressed at Optimal Germany!

Jazz saxophonist Ben Webster performs 10 songs including "Jeep Is Jumpin'", "You Forgot To Remember" and more with bassist Spike Heatley, drummer Tony Crombie, pianist Dick Katz, and Alan Haven on Hammond.

From the mixing console:
The great box-like figure and slow-rolling walk of Ben Webster have become familiar sights in European cities since 1965, when he settles - gradually but apparently permanently - into life on this side of the Atlantic (at the time of writing, late 1967, he regards Amsterdam as his base). The sound of his tenor saxophone, though, sometimes hot and hoarse, increasingly often a stream of tuned puffs of wind, has been known to European jazz record collectors a good deal longer. Ben Webster came to prominence, slipping out from the shadow of Coleman Hawkins, so to speak, during his comparatively short stay with Duke Ellington in 1939-43. He was in his early thirties then, and had already worked with Bennie Moten, Benny Carter, Fletcher Henderson and many others. There had also been an intermittent association with the Ellington orchestra from as far back as 1935. Ben's particular contribution to the art of the tenor saxophone is - as hinted above - a curiously breathy attack, in which he seems to be blowing round the mouthpiece rather than through it. A sound that Humphrey Lyttleton on BBC's Jazz Scene one night referred to as Ben's "breathalyser technique". You can get a very clear idea of this and some of Ben Webster's other characteristics on this record, made in London in January 1967. To back him on all but two of the tracks Dick Katz, well known once to most listeners as a member of the Ray Allington Quartet, was dragged from behind this agency desk and sat at the piano, to produce splendid, rolling two-handed stuff of a kind we could do with more often. Spike Haetly, one of the best in Britain, is on bass. Tony Cromble is on drums. "My One And Only Love", "Where Or When" and "Remember" have the distinctive organ sound of Alan Haven. As with almost any Ben Webster set you're likely to encounter in the flesh, there's a strong tincture of Ellington about the repertoire. "Just A Sittin' And A Rockin'" was originally titled "See'pea", Duke's nickname for his late lieutenant Billy Strayhorn when it was first recorded in 1941. "Jeep Is Jumpin'" is a reference to one of the many pet names for Johnny Hodges. "Solitude", the tune of which was written in 1934, is possibly the widest known of Duke's compositions outside jazz circles. Most of the rest of the material is made up of popular standards. The Jimmy McHugh-Dorothy Field number "Exactly Like You" is from a 1930 New York show called 'International Revue'. Of the two Irving Berlin tunes, "How Deep is The Ocean" dates from 1925. Fats Waller and Andy Razaf wrote "Honeysuckle Rose" in 1929, since when it has just conceivably been played by more jazz musicians of more various styles than any other tune. In the middle and late thirties no jam session sounded right without it. Richard Rodgers' tune "Where Or When", with Lorenz Hart's words, is from teh 1937 musical 'Babes In Arms'. Harry Baris (of The Rythme Boys) and Ted Koehler wrote "Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams", which has one of the most 'yearning' middle eights of all popular songs, in 1931.
- Fritz de With, Balance / MW Coding Engineer STS Digital, The Netherlands

• 180g Vinyl
• Direct Metal Mastering
• MW Coding Process
• Metal Cutting by Gunter Pauler, Germany
• Pressed at Optimal Germany

Ben Webster, tenor saxophone
Dick Katz, piano
Alan Haven, Hammond
Spike Heatley, bass
Tony Crombie, drums

Side A:

1. Solitude
2. Where Or When
3. My One And Only Love
4. How Deep Is The Ocean
5. You Forgot To Remember
Side B:
1. Just A Sittin' And A Rockin'
2. Jeep Is Jumpin
3. Honeysuckle Rose
4. Exactly Like You
5. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams

Customers Also Like