Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ben Webster Valentine's Day 1964, Live Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP

Ben Webster

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl - 500 Copies!
Previously Unheard Recording - One Of Webster's Last Great USA Performances!
Restored & Remastered!

In 1963 Ben Webster moved to New York with a renewed energy. He was seen sitting in with Duke Ellington on opening night at Basin Street East and becoming the spontaneous pianist for Gerry Mulligan's Concert Band at Birdland. He gigged at the Shalimar, Birdland and the Half Note with a quartet of revolving personnel. This recording captures just one such night. Ben's sidemen, Dave Frishberg, Richard Davis and Grady Tate were more than twenty years his junior, but the language they shared was trans-generational. Webster spent the remaining nine years of his life living and playing in Europe. This is one of his last great performances in the USA.

Painstakingly restored and remastered, this is a Limited Edition, 180 gram, Hand-Numbered Vinyl release.

• Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - Only 500 Copies!
• 180g Vinyl
• Undocumented Band
• Liner notes by Michael Cascuna
• One of the last great USA performances by Webster before his permanent move to Europe
• Previously unheard recording
• Edited and remastered by Lou Gimenez at The Music Lab, Elmont, NY
• Vinyl mastering by Caspar Sutton-Jones at Gearbox Records, London, UK

Ben Webster, saxophone
Dave Frishberg, piano
Richard Davis, bass
Grady Tate, drum

Side A:

1. Caravan
2. Ben's Blues
3. Cottontail
4. Tenderly
Side B:
1. Chelsea Bridge
2. How Long Has This Been Going On
3. Danny Boy
4. 52nd Street Theme

Originally recorded: February 14, 1964, at the Half Note, New York, NY

Customers Also Like