Genre: Classical
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Benny Andersson Piano 180g 2LP

Benny Andersson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Video Sample!

ABBA Co-Founder Reinterpretations On 180g Double LP!
Piano Versions Of Music From ABBA, Chess & More!

Universal Music Group (UMG), the world leader in music-based entertainment, announces an album of solo piano music from legendary Swedish composer and ABBA co-founder Benny Andersson. The album titled simply 'Piano' is released through the iconic classical music label Deutsche Grammophon.

'Piano' takes listeners on a 21-track journey through his acclaimed and celebrated career as songs from ABBA, his musicals and other solo-compositions are re-interpreted as you have never heard them before, performed unaccompanied by just Benny himself, on his trusted grand piano. The album was recorded with Linn Fijal, engineer and studio manager at his own RMV Studios, on the island of Skeppsholmen, in the heart of his hometown Stockholm.

The tracks are tender, touching and emotional arrangements, highlighting the theatrical, as well as classical-like qualities, both in writing and performance of music that has touched millions around the world since ABBA first came together in 1972. The music on this album reinforces Benny's profound gift for melody, a gift shared with many great classical composer-pianists throughout history, that have also inspired him throughout his life and career.

Speaking on the genesis of the album, Benny Andersson said: "In the process of recording this album, I have come to realize that the pieces I have chosen to play are an integral part of me. In endeavoring to reach for some core within them, I have found that the more I strip away the clothing, the closer I feel to the music, regardless of whether it was created last year or 40 years ago. In a strange way, I feel like I am playing my memoirs."

"It was very different to how I've made records in the past, and that was part of the joyfulness of it all," he adds, "Even without the bass, drums, guitars, strings and vocals on these songs, I think there is still substance in all of them. That was very pleasing to realize."

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Mastered from original sources
• Gatefold
• Made in Germany
• Limited time download card

LP 1
Side A:

1. I Let The Music Speak
2. You And I
3. Aldrig
4. Thank You For The Music
5. Stockholm By Night
Side B:
1. Chess
2. The Day Before You Came
3. Someone Else's Story
4. Midnattsdans
5. Malarskolan
LP 2
Side A:

1. I Wonder (Departure)
2. Embassy Lament
3. Anthem
4. My Love, My Life
5. Mountain Duet
Side B:
1. Flickornas Rum
2. Efter Regnet
3. Trostevisa
4. En Skrift I Snon
5. Happy New Year
6. I Gott Bevar

Customers Also Like