Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Big Brother And The Holding Company Big Brother And The Holding Company 180g LP

Big Brother And The Holding Company

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Classic Debut Album On 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl! Sourced From Original Masters! Mastered by Bob Irwin at Sundazed Studios! Pressed at RTI!

Legendary blues and rock singer Janis Joplin first rose to stardom as the lead singer for San Francisco psychedelic band Big Brother & the Holding Company and maintained prominence later as a solo artist with her backing groups, The Kozmic Blues Band and The Full Tilt Boogie Band. Known as The Queen of Rock and Roll at the height of her career, Joplin redefined the role of women in music with her signature bluesy wail and electrifying stage presence, providing some of the most emotionally charged performances of her era.

Big Brother & the Holding Company is the debut album from Big Brother and the Holding Company and the studio debut of Janis Joplin. The album was originally released in the summer of 1967, following the band's major success at the Monterey Pop Festival.

In addition to Joplin's inimitable blues cry, Big Brother's other key strength lies in the scraping, distorted guitars of Sam Andrew and James Gurley, which are in heavy abundance on such choice cuts as the trippy "Light Is Faster Than Sound", the punkish "Women Is Losers", and the group's fuzzy droning remake of Moondog's "All Is Loneliness". Thanks to the album's raging single, "Down On Me", it was immediately clear to radio audiences of the time that the Texas born singer was a new force to be reckoned with.

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Sourced from original masters
• Mastered by Bob Irwin at Sundazed Studios
• Pressed at RTI
• Album jacket recreated from original art

Peter Albin, bass
David Getz, drums
James Gurley, guitar
Sam Andrew, guitar
Janis Joplin, vocals

Side One:

1. Bye, Bye Baby
2. Easy Rider
3. Intruder
4. Light Is Faster Than Sound
5. Call on Me
6. Coo Coo
Side Two:
1. Women Is Losers
2. Blindman
3. Down on Me
4. Caterpillar
5. All Is Loneliness
6. Last Time

Customers Also Like