Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Big Brother & The Holding Company with Janis Joplin Sex Dope & Cheap Thrills 2LP

Big Brother & The Holding Company with Janis Joplin

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
50th Anniversary Edition On Double LP!
Features Previously Unreleased Material!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 372/500!

2018 marks the 50th anniversary of Big Brother & The Holding Company's iconic second studio album and major label debut Cheap Thrills, which featured and introduced the world to one of the most recognizable female vocalists in rock history, Janis Joplin. To commemorate this anniversary, Legacy releases Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills—named after the originally intended title for the 1968 album which was rejected by the label for being too controversial for the time. Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills features rare performances from the original album sessions, 13 of which are previously unreleased, including unheard versions of favorites such as "Summertime", "I Need a Man to Love" and the smash hit "Piece of My Heart". Sex, Dope and Cheap Thrills also features liner notes penned especially for this commemorative release by Jefferson Airplane front-woman Grace Slick and Big Brother & The Holding Company drummer David Getz.

• Double LP
• Celebrating 50 years of Cheap Thrills!
• Controversial original title restored
• Alternate takes from the classic 1968 album sessions
• 13 previously unreleased recordings
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download code

LP 1
Side A:

1. Combination Of The Two (Demo)
2. I Need A Man To Love (Take 3)
3. Summertime (Take 2) *
4. Piece Of My Heart (Take 6)
Side B:
1. Harry (Take 10)
2. Turtle Blues (Take 4)
3. Oh, Sweet Mary
4. Ball And Chain (Live)
LP 2
Side C:

1. Roadblock (Take 1) *
2. Magic Of Love (Take 1) *
3. Oh Sweet Mary
4. Flower In The Sun (Take 3)
Side D:
1. Catch Me Daddy (Take 1)
2. Turtle Blues (Take 9)
3. How Many Times Blues Jam
4. Farewell Song (Take 5)

*Previously released

Customers Also Like