Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Bill Berry Short Cake Numbered Limited Edition Half-Speed Mastered 180g 2LP (Black Vinyl)

Bill Berry

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Half-Speed Mastered by Stan Ricker!

Bill Berry played trumpet and cornet in The Duke Ellington Orchestra. The only small group release on Concord by this superbly talented Ellington alumnus, Shortcake actually features TWO groups - a terrific quintet including Frank Capp, Dave Frishberg, Mundell Lowe and Monty Budwig, and a larger group including Bill Watrous, Nick Ceroli, Marshall Royal, and other great L.A. musicians of the 1980's. Everything is crisp yet relaxed, the solo work is inspired, and the arrangements for the larger group are creative without being constraining or fussy. This is fun, sophisticated, and swinging; in other words, outstanding jazz.

Audiophile LP collectors will always remember Bill Berry for "For Duke" the sensational direct-to-disc recording. "Shortcake" is a favorite of Jazz fans, and for good reason. Don't miss this limited 33 and 1/3, individually numbered, "Lab Reference Series" 2-LP set.

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• 1/2 Speed Mastering by Stan Ricker
• Deluxe HQ-180 Gram Double Vinyl
• Gatefold Jacket
• Audiophile Inner Sleeves
• Pressed at RTI
• Black Vinyl

Bill Berry, cornet
Marshal Royal, sax, clarinet
Lew Tabackin, sax, flute
Bill Watrous, trombone
Mundell Lowe, guitar
Alan Broadbent, piano
Dave Frishberg, piano
Monty Budwig, bass
Frankie Capp, drums

1. Avalon
2. Betty
3. Bloose
4. I Didn't Know About You
5. Royal Garden Blues
6. Moon Song
7. I'm Getting Sentimental over You
8. I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You
9. What Am I Here For?
10. It Don't Mean A Thing
11. Stella By Starlight

Customers Also Like