Genre: Jazz


Bill Evans Everybody Still Digs Bill Evans: A Career Retrospective (1956-1980) 5CD Box Set

Bill Evans

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

5CD Box Set Career Retrospective!
First-Ever Career-Spanning Collection With Over 60 Tracks!
Includes Previously Unreleased Bill Evans Trio 1975 Live Concert!

TAS Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the December 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

The first-ever career-spanning collection of music from pioneering jazz pianist Bill Evans. The five-disc deluxe edition features over 60 tracks that spotlight Evans' Riverside, Milestone, Fantasy, Verve, Warner Bros., and Elektra/Musician catalogs, plus a previously unreleased Bill Evans Trio live concert from 1975. The set comes housed in a superbly designed portfolio-style hard-cover 48-page book containing ephemera, photos, and extensive liner notes by GRAMMY®-winning writer Neil Tesser.

Housed in a sumptuous fabric-wrapped foil-stamped hardcover portfolio style book with 48 pages containing rare photos and extensive liner notes by Grammy-winning writer Neil Tesser, this 5-CD box set would be the perfect holiday gift for jazz piano aficionados and Evans completists. Disc 1 focuses on Evans' trio recordings on Riverside in a variety of configurations. Disc 2 features Evans' trio recordings for Fantasy, Verve, and Warner Bros. alongside various bassists and drummers. Disc 3 focuses on Evans' solo piano work and includes meditative versions of 'Peace Piece' and 'Danny Boy' along with adventurous overdubbing experiments, including the three-piano 'N.Y.C.'s No Lark' and a delicate two-piano version of 'Emily.' Disc 4 features duets with Jim Hall and Tony Bennett as well as full-band collaborations with Stan Getz, Cannonball Adderley and Toots Thielemans. Disc 5, a previously unreleased Bill Evans Trio live performance from 1975 with Gomez and Zigmund at Oil Can Harry's in Vancouver, is also available as a stand-alone 2-LP set entitled On a Friday Evening.
-Bill Milkowski, The Absolute Sound, December 2021, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4/5


  • 5CD Box Set
  • Over 60 tracks spanning his entire catalog
  • Disc 5 is comprised entirely of a previously-unreleased Bill Evans Trio live performance from 1975
  • Remastered by Grammy-winning engineer Paul Blakemore
  • Housed in a fabric-wrapped, hard cover 12" x 10" portfolio style book with a foil-stamped cover
  • The 5 discs are mounted in back in a double gatefold display
  • Book contains extensive liner notes by Grammy-winning writer Neil Tesser, ephemera & photos


Bill Evans piano, electric piano
Cannonball Adderley
Tony Bennett
Ray Brown
Monty Budwig
Larry Bunker
Kenny Burrell
Ron Carter
Paul Chambers
Jack DeJohnette
Stan Getz
Eddie Gomez
Jim Hall
Tom Harrell
Percy Heath
Freddie Hubbard
Chuck Israels
Marc Johnson
Philly Joe Jones
Sam Jones
Connie Kay
Lee Konitz
Teddy Kotick
Joe LaBarbera
Scott LaFaro
Harold Land
Shelly Manne
Warne Marsh
Marian McPartland
Marty Morell
Paul Motian
Gary Peacock
Larry Schneider
Zoot Sims
Toots Thielemans
Eliot Zigmund


Disc One: Trialogues, Vol. 1

  1. Five
  2. Woody'N You [take 2]
  3. Young And Foolish
  4. Autumn Leaves
  5. How Deep Is The Ocean
  6. Sweet And Lovely
  7. Blue In Green
  8. How My Heart Sings
  9. Re: Person I Knew
  10. My Foolish Heart (live)
  11. Waltz For Debby (live)
  12. Gloria's Step (live)
  13. My Man's Gone Now (live)
  14. Swedish Pastry (live)

Disc Two: Trialogues, Vol. 2

  1. Israel
  2. The Peacocks
  3. I Believe In You
  4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  5. I Will Say Goodbye
  6. Turn Out The Stars (live)
  7. Walkin' Up (live)
  8. Very Early (live)
  9. Minha (All Mine) (live)
  10. My Romance (live)
  11. Days Of Wine And Roses (live)
  12. The Touch Of Your Lips (live)
  13. Someday My Prince Will Come (live)

Disc Three: Monologues

  1. Peace Piece
  2. Danny Boy
  3. Make Someone Happy
  4. A Time For Love
  5. Waltz For Debby
  6. The Bad And The Beautiful
  7. N.Y.C.'s No Lark
  8. Emily
  9. Remembering The Rain
  10. I Loves You Porgy (live)
  11. Letter To Evan (live)
  12. Nardis (live)

Disc Four: Dialogues & Confluences

  1. My Funny Valentine
  2. A Face Without A Name
  3. The Touch Of Your Lips
  4. I Love You
  5. Up With The Lark (live)
  6. Funkallero (live)
  7. Who Cares?
  8. Body And Soul
  9. You And The Night And The Music
  10. Time Remembered
  11. Night And Day
  12. A Child Is Born
  13. Peri's Scope

Disc Five: Epilogue

  1. Sareen Jurer (live)
  2. Sugar Plum (live)
  3. The Two Lonely People (live)
  4. T. T. T. (Twelve Tone Tune) (live)
  5. Quiet Now (live)
  6. Up With The Lark (live)
  7. How Deep Is The Ocean (live)
  8. Blue Serge (live)
  9. Nardis (live)

Customers Also Like