Genre: Classical
Composer: Bizet


Bizet Symphony In C HDCD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Mastered by Prof. Keith Johnson!

Reference Recordings is proud to present these three works of Georges Bizet, beautifully performed by the San Francisco Ballet Orchestra, conducted by Martin West. The recording was made at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California by Grammy-winning engineer Keith O. Johnson.

The "Symphony In C" is a delightful gem, composed in 1855. It was produced as a ballet choreographed by George Balanchine, and premiered at the San Francisco Ballet in 1961.

"Jeux d'Enfants" is filled with youthful wonder, and fanciful, charming, memorable tunes. We include Bizet's own orchestrations of five of the pieces. The remaining seven pieces' orchestrations are by Hershey Kay and Roy Douglas. This recording is the first to feature all 12 pieces, with the Kay and Douglas orchestrations.

"Variations chromatiques" is a dramatic work recorded only once before, by the Louisville Orchestra in 1973. This is the first modern recording and the first time this work is available on CD.

Founded in San Francisco in 1976, Reference Recordings believes that how a recording sounds is as important as the music itself. RR is thankful to everyone who was instrumental in bringing this outstanding album to life, especially "Prof." Keith O. Johnson (Grammy® award-winner, inventor and entertainment technologist).

• HDCD/24-bit
• Mastered by Prof. Keith O. Johnson

Martin West, conductor
San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

Georges Bizet (1838 - 1875)
Symphony In C
1. Allegro vivo
2. Adagio
3. Scherzo, Allegro vivace
4. Finale, Allegro vivace

Jeux d' Enfants, Opus 22 (1871)
(Orchestrations by Georges Bizet, Hershey Kay, and Roy Douglas)
5. L'Escarpolette (The Swing/Sea Saw)
6. Impromptu: La Toupie (The Top)
7. Berceuse: La Poupee (The Doll)
8. Les Chevaux de Bois (Hobby Horses)
9. Le Volant (The Shuttlecock / Badminton)
10. Marche: Trompette et Tambour (Trumpet and Drum)
11. Les Bulles de Savon (Soap Bubbles)
12. Les quatre Coins (Puss in the Corner)
13. Colin-Maillard (Blind Man's Buff)
14. Saute-Mouton (Leap-Frog)
15. Duo: Petit Mari, petite Femme (Little Husband, Little Wife)
16. Galop: Le Bal (The Ball)

17. Variations Chromatiques (1868)
(Orchestrated by Felix Weingartner)

Customers Also Like