Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sundazed
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Blood, Sweat & Tears Child Is Father To The Man LP

Blood, Sweat & Tears

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 266/500!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the January 2010 Issue of Stereophile!

Although they would go on to become one of the most commercially successful acts of the 1970s, most observers agree that Blood, Sweat & Tears' 1968 debut effort Child Is Father to the Man remains the ambitious ensemble's finest and most enduring musical statement. The band's only album under the leadership of legendary singer/keyboardist Al Kooper, Child IS Father... stands with such late '60s art-pop landmarks as the Zombies' Odessey and Oracle and Love's Forever Changes in capturing the period's seemingly limitless creative possibilities.

Child Is Father to the Man is a brilliant reflection of the desire of Kooper - a former member of the seminal Blues Project and a key collaborator in Bob Dylan's early electric work - to use an expanded instrumental lineup to explore a broader range of sounds, styles and compositional approaches. Towards that end, he launched Blood, Sweat & Tears, recruiting a stellar assortment of players from the worlds of rock and jazz, including ex-Blues Project guitarist Steve Katz, former Buffalo Springfield/Mothers of Invention bassist Jim Fielder, jazz drummer Bobby Colomby and noted jazz horn players Randy Brecker, Dick Halligan, Fred Lipsius and Jerry Weiss.

The resulting album (produced by fables studio genius John Simon) was a seamlessly eclectic psychedelic-rock-jazz-classical fusion, with such diverse tracks as Kooper's gritty compositions "I Can't Quit Her" and "I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know", as well as his playfully arty "House in the Country" and "The Modern Adventures of Plato, Diogenes and Freud", along with stirring readings of Tim Buckley's "Morning Glory", Harry Nilsson's "Without Her" and Randy Newman's "Just One Smile".

Kooper's expansive musical vision may have been a bit too far ahead of its time. Although it was a favorite of early FM album-rock DJs, Child Is Father... barely scraped the Billboard Top 50 and failed to produce a hit singles. However, in the years since, the album has been widely recognized for its expressiveness and originality, and embraced by successive generations of listeners. For instance, it received a prominent placement in Rolling Stone's 2003 ranking of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Now, Child Is Father to the Man is back in its original vinyl format with Sundazed's definitive new LP edition. With meticulously reproduced original cover art, this vintage musical landmark has been remastered from the original analog master tapes and is pressed on high-quality, high-definition vinyl.

"Blood, Sweat and Tears are usually remembered as middle-of-the-road oldies-radio faves. But this album shows the original outfit, headed by organist Al Kooper, to be an eclectic blues-rock collective that recorded hard-bitten gems such as "I Can't Quit Her." -

• High Definition Vinyl
• Remastered from original analog master tapes

1. Overture
2. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
3. Morning Glory
4. My Days Are Numbered
5. Without Her
6. Just One Smile
7. I Can't Quit Her
8. Meagan's Gypsy Eyes
9. Somethin' Goin' On
10. House In the Country
11. The Modern Adventures of Plato, Diogenes and Freud
12. So Much Love

Customers Also Like