Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Parlophone
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Blur The Magic Whip 180g 2LP


Availability: Awaiting Repress
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Rolling Stone 50 Best Albums of 2015- Rated 10/50!

First Studio Album in 12 Years on 180g Vinyl Double LP!

The Magic Whip is the 8th studio album from the group Blur, made up of Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James, and Dave Rowntree. The group are assisted by Mike Smith on horns and Demon Strings for orchestration.

When the group was stranded in Tokyo in May 2013 after a canceled music festival, they worked on new material in order to distract themselves during the downtime. The album was not produced right away. In November 2014, Graham Coxon got permission from Damon Albarn to work on the music with producer Stephen Street. After his tour in Australia in December 2014, Albarn returned to Hong Kong for lyrical inspiration for the previously recorded music. By the end of January 2015, the vocals were completed and the mastering for the album was finished in February.

The cover for the album was inspired by the time they spent in Tokyo when the music was created. The words on the cover literally mean Blur Magic-whip.

"Like Everyday Robots, there's an existential loneliness thrumming throughout The Magic Whip, but there's also camaraderie, a sense that companionship can pull you through, and that's especially true of Albarn and Coxon, who prove once again to be the other's ideal collaborator, refining, expanding, and sharpening their ideas, turning a potential throwaway to something quietly resonant." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Lonesome Street
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
LP 1 - Side B:
1. Ice Cream Man
2. Thought I Was A Spaceman
3. I Broadcast

LP 2 - Side C:
1. My Terracotta Heart
2. There Are Too Many of Us
3. Ghost Ship
LP 2 - Side D:
1. Pyongyang
2. Ong Ong
3. Mirrorball

Customers Also Like