Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Bob Dylan The Bootleg Series Vol. 8: Tell Tale Signs: Rare And Unreleased 1989-2006 180g 4LP Box Set

Bob Dylan

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 3/5 Sonics in the January 2009 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the March 2009 Issue of Stereophile!

The latest volume in the acclaimed ongoing series features unreleased recordings, studio demos, alternate takes, live tracks and rare film songs spanning 1989-2006.

Bob Dylan’s Tell Tale Signs: The Bootleg Series Vol. 8 is the 8th installment in the best-selling and critically lauded Bootleg Series which launched in 1991  released by Columbia Records. A treasure-trove of 27 songs, Tell Tale Signs features previously unreleased recordings and alternate versions of tracks from sessions which generated some of Bob Dylan’s most acclaimed and commercially successful albums from the last two decades, including Time Out Of Mind, “Love And Theft,” Modern Times and Oh Mercy.

The collection includes a selection of outstanding live performances from 1989-2006 including "Ring Them Bells" from Dylan's historic shows at New York's Supper Clue in 1993; the unreleased "Girl From the Greenbriar Shore" from 1991; and a consummate rendering of  "High Water (for Charley Patton)" from Niagara Falls in 2003.

"...along with mostly organic sonics, the presence of fare like "Red River Shore" - as good as anything on Time Out of Mind, for which the standard was recorded - makes the collection more than just a curiosity item." - Bob Gendron, The Absolute Sound, January 2009

"...this new staggeringly good, filled with alternate versions, outtakes, demos, and soundtrack and concert recordings. There's a lot here that shows a direct line back to the Dylan of the 1960s..." - David Sokol, Stereophile Magazine, January 2009, Vol. 32, No. 1

• 4-LP
• 180 gram Vinyl
• 12" x 12" Box - Lift-Off Vinyl Display Case
• Download Insert
• Gatefold package
• 60 page booklet with stunning rare photos and in-depth notes
• 27 unreleased songs including studio demos, alternate takes, live tracks, and more!

LP 1

1. Mississippi (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
2. Most Of The Time (Alternate Version, Oh Mercy)
3. Dignity (Piano Demo, Oh Mercy)
4. Someday Baby (Alternate Version, Modern Times)
5. Red River Shore (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
6. Tell Ol' Bill (Alternate Version, North Country Soundtrack)
7. Born In Time (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
LP 2
1. Can't Wait (Alternate Version, Time Out Of Mind)
2. Everything Is Broken (Alternate Version, Oh Mercy)
3. Dreamin' Of You (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
4. Huck's Tune (Album Version)
5. Marchin' To The City (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
6. High Water (For Charley Patton) (Live from Niagara Falls, Ontario)
7. Mississippi (Unreleased version #2, Time Out Of Mind)
LP 3
1. 32-20 Blues (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)
2. Series Of Dreams (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
3. God Knows (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
4. Can't Escape From You (Unreleased, December 2005)
5. Dignity (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
6. Ring Them Bells (Live, The Supper Club, November 17, 1993, New York, NY)
7. Cocaine Blues (Live, 1997)
LP 4
1. Ain't Talkin' (Alternate Version, Modern Times)
2. The Girl On The Greenbriar Shore (Live, 1992)
3. Lonesome Day Blues (Live, February 1, 2002, Sunrise, FL)
4. Miss The Mississippi (Unreleased, 1992)
5. The Lonesome River (Feat. Ralph Stanley, from the album Clinch Mountain Country)
6. 'Cross The Green Mountain (From Gods And Generals Soundtrack)

Customers Also Like