Genre: Jazz
Label: Resonance
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Bob James Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessions Numbered Limited Edition 180g LP

Bob James

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP!
First-Ever Official Archival Release Of Previously Unissued Music!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman & Pressed at RTI!

Previously unreleased studio recordings captured at Wollman Auditorium in NYC in 1965. It features Bob James in two different trio settings, one from early 1965 with bassist Larry Rockwell and drummer Robert (Cleve) Pozar, and one from October 1965 with bassist Bill Woods and drummer Omar Clay performing a mix of jazz standards and original compositions.


  • Numbered, Limited Edition First Pressing of 5,000
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Mastered by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Never before released
  • Recorded by Resonance founder & co-president George Klabin in 1965 at Wollman Auditorium in New York City
  • Sound restoration by George Klabin & Fran Gala
  • Deluxe Gatefold
  • Extensive insert with rare photos by Tom Copi, essay by Mark Stryker, interviews with James, Bob Pozar, pianist Makoto Ozone & more


Bob James piano
Larry Rockwell bass (Side One)
Bill Woods bass (Side Two)
Robert Pozar drums (Side One)
Omar Clay drums (Side Two)


Side One - January 20, 1965

  1. Serenata
  2. Once Upon A Time
  3. Lateef Minor 7th
  4. Variations

Side Two - October 9, 1965

  1. Airegin
  2. Indian Summer
  3. Solar
  4. Long Forgotten Blues

Customers Also Like