Genre: Jazz
Label: Evosound
Additional Artists: Michael Palazzolo Billy Kilson


Bob James Trio Feel Like Making LIVE! 4K Blu-Ray Video Disc

Bob James Trio

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Jazz Trio Performances of Bob James' Classic Tracks on Blu-Ray Video Disc!
Superb Recording Features a Cover of Elton John's "Rocket Man"!
Filmed in 4K Ultra HD with Dolby Atmos & Auro-3D Audio!

Feel Like Making LIVE! includes Bob James's most well known hits like "Angela", "Maputo", "Westchester Lady" and "Nautilus" as well as an instrumental cover of Elton John's "Rocket Man". This jazz trio live-in-the-studio recording was stylishly filmed in 4K and recorded in high resolution audio and is available in Ultra HD Blu-Ray with Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D as well as uncompressed stereo at 96kHz / 24bit. Bonus tracks and in-depth interview are included.

Rather than swing like a bop trio, they play classy, R&B- and pop-tinged jazz that's both accessible and adventurous ... James reshapes Elton John's 'Rocket Man' into a mysterious, slithering number and Petula Clark's 'Downtown' into a jaunty, hesitating blues with classical flourishes. The trio couldn't have made a better pick for their one jazz standard either: Their take on 'Misty' is as classy as Erroll Garner's, with James keeping it simple, Palazzolo plucking discriminately, and Kilson brushing slowly. Something must be said about the recording quality, because it's a hallmark of James' work, and it's beautiful here - everything mic'd perfectly, with precisely the right amount of reverb to make the snare crisp, the bass extra woody, and the piano crystal-clean.
-Steve Greenlee, JazzTimes
Just how good is the video? If I had the time, I could count the threads in James' sport coat during his interview in the extras. The clarity here is second to none. It's so impressive in fact that various close-ups on Palazzolo's bass reveal the brush strokes from the varnish on the instrument. The color palette from the recording studio features a variety of oranges, blacks and earth tones that are wonderfully paired with the overall feel and vibe of the music on display. Visual noise is non-existent. This presentation is as clean as a countertop after Clorox leaves the kitchen ... You're going to find your speakers come to life with such a wondrous balance that it is safe to say this disc is completely reference quality from top to bottom, sights to sounds. There is this exceptional balance between each instrument where each is displayed in audible perfection. Let's not forget how the subwoofer comes to life and stands up when Michael Palazzolo goes to work on the bass or when Kilson takes us all to school with his drum solos. To say the performance sounds clear is an understatement. 'Masterpiece' is a better adjective under these circumstances ... If you are a music connoisseur and/or have a love for jazz, what are you doing not owning this? Feel Like Making LIVE! is a thing of beauty to the eyes and especially the ears. The roughly hour and a half delivery flies by as we are treated to three masters putting on a show of impressive skill and artistry. It is a magnificent example of what 4K Ultra High Definition can do when the right team is on task.
-Gregg Senko,


  • 4K Ultra HD Blu-Ray Video Disc
  • Hi-Res Audiophile Recording
  • Live-in-the-Studio Recording
  • Region: All
  • Picture Format: 16:9 4K Ultra HD
  • Audio: Dolby Atmos, Auro-3D & Uncompressed Stereo 96kHz / 24 bit
  • Bonus Tracks
  • In-Depth Interview
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese
  • Running Time: 84 Minutes (+ 27 Minutes Bonus Material)


Bob James piano
Michael Palazzolo bass
Billy Kilson drums


  1. Angela
  2. Rocket Man
  3. Maputo
  4. Topside
  5. Misty
  6. Avalabop
  7. Nautilus
  8. Downtown
  9. Niles A Head
  10. Feel Like Making Love / Night Crawler
  11. Submarine
  12. Mister Magic
  13. Nardis
  14. Westchester Lady
Bonus Tracks:
  1. Restoration (Bonus Track)
  2. Mojito Ride (Bonus Track)
  3. One Afternoon (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like