Genre: Alternative
Label: Merge Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Bob Mould Blue Hearts LP

Bob Mould

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming September 25, 2020 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

14th Solo Album On Vinyl LP!
Features The Raging Track "American Crisis"!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 3.5/5 Sonics in the January 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Legendary singer-songwriter-guitarist-bandleader Bob Mould has announced the release of an explosive new album, Blue Hearts.

In the winter of 2019, Bob Mould bucked the era's despair with his most melodic, upbeat album in ages, Sunshine Rock. Cut to spring of 2020, and he has this to say: "We're really in deep shit now." That sentiment informs the new full-length album, Blue Hearts, the raging-but-catchy yin to Sunshine Rock's yang.

Blue Hearts is perhaps the most directly confrontational work of Bob Mould's four-decade career, a raging 14-track collection described by its creator as "the catchiest batch of protest songs I've ever written in one sitting."

Recorded at the famed Electrical Audio in Chicago with longtime collaborator Beau Sorenson engineering and Mould producing, Blue Hearts - which once again features backing from the crack rhythm section of drummer Jon Wurster and bassist Jason Narducy - nods to Mould's past while remaining firmly planted in the issues of the day.

The acoustic opener, "Heart on My Sleeve" catalogues the ravages of climate change, while "American Crisis" - written initially for Sunshine Rock but deemed "too heavy" by its writer - spits plainspoken fire at the people who fomented this catastrophic moment in history. Elsewhere, the political and personal collide on songs like "Everyth!ng to You", "The Ocean" and the salaciously autobiographical "Leather Dreams", the latter two composed earlier this year during an epic three-day writing binge prior to January 2020's sold-out Solo Electric tour.

As volatile, hook-laden, and aggressively honest as anything in Mould's remarkable canon, Blue Hearts is fueled by a pervasive sense of déjà vu, its angry anthems of today equally informed by his experiences and memories of the early 1980s.

You'll likely need to adjust your volume knob accordingly to find the threshold of acceptable distortion, but make no mistake - Mould's rage is as melodic as it is primeval. After 35 minutes of tumult, Mould's manifesto is painfully obvious: Clear eyes, Blue Hearts, can't lose.
-Mike Mettler, The Absolute Sound, January 2021, Music 4/5, Sonics 3.5/5


  • Vinyl LP
  • Cardboard dustsleeve with lyrics
  • Limited time digital download card


  1. Heart On My Sleeve
  2. Next Generation
  3. American Crisis
  4. Fireball
  5. Forecast Of Rain
  6. When You Left
  7. Siberian Butterfly
  8. Everyth!ng To You
  9. Racing To The End
  10. Baby Needs A Cookie
  11. Little Pieces
  12. Leather Dreams
  13. Password To My Soul
  14. The Ocean

Customers Also Like