Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Boz Scaggs Memphis 180g LP

Boz Scaggs

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound and Pressed at United Record Pressing- Nashville!
Scaggs' First Album Of Original Material In Five Years!

New From The Hitmaker of "Silk Degrees"! Featuring the Single "Mixed Up Shook Up Girl"!

Grammy-Award winning rock legend Boz Scaggs showcases both original songs and choice covers on the album Memphis. The album was produced by Steve Jordan (John Mayer) and was recorded at Willie Mitchell's legendary Royal Studio in Memphis, where the late Mitchell recorded Al Green and other Hi Records artists. Joining Scaggs on Memphis are Willie Weeks (bass), Ray Parker Jr. (guitars), Spooner Oldham (keyboards), the Memphis Horns, Lester Snell (string arrangements) and Steve Jordan (drums).

William Royce Boz Scaggs began a long and storied career in 1965 with the release of his first solo recording Boz. Scaggs quickly developed into an iconic singer songwriter cutting his teeth playing with Steve Miller on several highly successful projects and honing his rock and R&B chops working with the likes of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and Duane Allman. Scaggs hit it big in 1976 achieving multi-platinum success with Silk Degrees and its follow-ups. Scaggs continued on a lauded and multi-genre musical journey with successes in film soundtracks.

"...Memphis, his first album of new studio material in five years... Between touring and his work with Donald Fagen and Michael McDonald in the Dukes of September in recent years, Scaggs hasn't had much time in the studio, hence the gap between albums. Thankfully, the multi-platinum singer-songwriter found his new album, Memphis, to be perhaps the most natural collection of his four-decade plus career...

"..."Mixed Up Shook Up Girl", premiered here, finds Scaggs' deep, soulful vocals highlighted by a soft beat that brings to mind another soul icon, the Drifters. Originally recorded by Willy Deville in 1977, "Mixed Up Shook Up Girl" is one of those tracks Scaggs had wanted to do for some time."
- Steve Baltin,, January 14, 2013

• 180g Vinyl
• Mastered by Greg Calbi (additional mastering by Steve Fallone)
• Mastered at Sterling Sound
• Pressed at United Record Pressing - Nashville
• Single LP jacket
• Poly-lined inner sleeve

Boz Scaggs, vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitars
Steve Jordan, drums, percussion
Ray Parker Jr., acoustic guitar, electric guitar
Willie Weeks, upright bass, electric bass

Side One:

1. Gone Baby Gone
2. So Good To Be Here
3. Mixed Up Shook Up Girl
4. Rainy Night in Georgia
5. Love On A Two Way Street
6. Pearl Of the Quarter
Side Two:
1. Cadillac Walk
2. Corinna, Corinna
3. Can I Change My Mind
4. Dry Spell
5. You Got Me Cryin'
6. Sunny Gone

Customers Also Like