Brad Mehldau Jacob's Ladder 2LP

Brad Mehldau

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Original Compositions with Covers of Rush, Gentle Giant & Yes on Double LP!

TAS Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the July/August 2022 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Jazzwise The 20 Best Jazz Albums of 2022 - Rated 19/20!

2023 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Contemporary Instrumental Album: Jacob's Ladder

The album features new music that reflects on scripture and the search for God through music inspired by the prog-rock Mehldau loved as a young adolescent, which was his gateway to the fusion that eventually led to his discovery of jazz. Jacob's Ladder is made up of original compositions by Mehldau alongside interpolations and covers of songs by Rush, Gentle Giant and Yes. Featured musicians on the album include Mehldau's label mates Chris Thile and Cécile McLorin Salvant, as well as Mark Guiliana, Becca Stevens, Joel Frahm, and others.

Although Jacob's Ladder is one of the more idiosyncratic albums in Mehldau's discography, there's enough sophisticated and delicately rendered piano work here to appeal to his longtime fans.
-Matt Collar,
'Maybe as His Skies Are Wide' sets the sonic table, its title borrowed from Rush's 1981 prog-rock gauntlet-crusher, 'Tom Sawyer.' Six tracks later, 'Tom Sawyer' gets its own full-on reading, with Mehldau and frequent collaborator vocalist/mandolinist Chris Thile tackling the song's structure template fairly reverentially before transmogrifying the original's gnarly guitar solo into a synth-laden, sax-charged, and mandolin-infused section. The three-part title track is an avant-jazz extrapolation of another acknowledged Rush classic. Meanwhile, 'Herr and Knecht' reinforces the tenet that fusion is alive and well in the 21st century - albeit located at the three-way intersection of Weather Report Lane, Amon Duul II Avenue, and King Crimson Court.
-Mike Mettler, The Absolute Sound, July/August 2022, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4.5/5
On Jacob's Ladder Mehldau gives you both something to think about as well as musically get your teeth into. Those are indeed rare qualities.
-Selwyn Harris, Jazzwise, The 20 Best Jazz Albums of 2022


  • Double LP
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Canada


Side A:

  1. - maybe as his skies are wide -
  2. Herr und Knecht (Master and Slave)
  3. (Entr'acte) Glam Perfume

Side B:

  1. Cogs in Cogs I - Dance
  2. Cogs in Cogs II - Song
  3. Cogs in Cogs III - Double Fugue
  4. Tom Sawyer

Side C:

  1. Vou correndo te encontrar / Racecar
  2. Jacob's Ladder I - Liturgy
  3. Jacob's Ladder II - Song

Side D:

  1. Jacob's Ladder III - Ladder
  2. Heaven: I - All Once. / II - Life Seeker. / III - Würm. / IV - Epilogue: It Was a Dream but I Carry It Still.

Customers Also Like