Brahms Symphony No. 3 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Great Sounding Classical Title from EMI!

180g Audiophile Vinyl Cut from the Original EMI Stereo Analogue Master Tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

Sir John Barbirolli conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra for this performance of compositional works by Brahms on audiophile vinyl.

Recordings of the Vienna Philharmonic in the 1960s tended to be the domain of Decca, with John Culshaw and his team at the Sofiensaal but the VPO did make recordings for other labels, notably Deutsche Grammophon and several for EMI and this is a superb example of how other companies could equally capture the qualities of this great orchestra. Sir John Barbirolli (1899-1970) recorded the complete cycle of Brahms Symphonies with the Vienna Philharmonic, with whom he was often a guest conductor, and this recording is from that cycle, originally released to great critical acclaim.

Recorded on 4-8, 15, 18 and 19 December 1967 at the Musikvereinsaal, Vienna with producer Ronald Kinloch Anderson and engineer Ernst Rothe.

In the original February 1969 review in the GRAMOPHONE Thomas Hearns remarked:
“It is not often that one can pick a clear winner among the oft-recorded classics but this surely merits that distinction... No praise can be too high for the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra’s playing and a tribute is due to HMV [EMI] for capturing the quality of sound so well – and also for balancing the woodwind so precisely, their clear lines adding to our pleasure.”

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analogue master tapes with the Neumann VMS82 lathe fed an analogue pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analogue process.

Pressed on 180g vinyl to audiophile standards using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England.

• Hi-Q Records Supercuts 180g Vinyl
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI stereo analogue master tapes
• Superior Audiophile Pressing
• Features original album artwork
• Made in England

Wiener Philharmoniker (Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra)
Sir John Barbirolli

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Side One:
Symphony No. 3 in F, Op. 90

1. Allegro con brio - Un poco sostenuto
2. Andante
3. Poco allegretto
Side Two:
4. Allegro - Un poco sostenuto
Variations On a theme by Haydn Op. 56a 'St. Antoni Chorale'
5. Theme - Variations 1-8 - Finale

Customers Also Like