Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Brian Eno & David Byrne My Life In the Bush of Ghosts 2LP

Brian Eno & David Byrne

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
With its “found” vocals, cut-and-paste arrangements, funked-up rhythms and embrace of influences from all around the globe, the duo’s controversial work anticipated the creative cross-pollination and technological innovation of contemporary electronic dance music, world music, hip hop and alternative rock. You can hear echoes of My Life in the Bush of Ghosts in the anthems Moby built around vintage vocal samples, in the outrageously exotic beats of Missy Elliot and Timbaland, in the Middle Eastern-accented chill-out tracks of Thievery Corporation or Bjork’s otherworldly soundscapes.

Upon initial release critics were divided and audiences were, well, confused. Eno and Byrne themselves didn’t know quite what they were looking for at first. They shared an enthusiasm for African music, especially the hypnotic grooves of Nigerian Fela Kuti, and a desire to free themselves from the constraints of conventional songwriting. They embarked on a nomadic journey through studios in New York City, Los Angeles and San Francisco. The players who accompanied them on these sessions included drummers Chris Frantz (Talking Heads) and Prairie Prince (The Tubes), bassist Bill Laswell (Material) and Tim Wright (DNA), avant-garde percussionist Dave Van Teighem and conga player Steve Scales, part of the Remain In Light live band. The result of their labors was an album that married West African and American R&B rhythms with the impassioned voices of talk-show hosts and evangelists taped off the radio or the evocative sound of prayerful singers culled from Middle Eastern field recordings. Byrne recalls their entire
adventure in fascinating liner notes that detail the recording process and address the resulting critical furor. My Life in the Bush of Ghosts was cut between Talking Heads’ Fear of Music (1979) and Remain In Light (1980), but sample clearance issues, an almost unheard-of-problem in the analog era, kept it on hold until 1981.

This updated, 180 gram, double LP edition is fully remastered, includes seven unreleased tracks from the original recording session and six multi track selections. The bonus material includes tracks that had been considered for but never made it to the original LP and a smart, informative historical /critical essay by author-musicologist-recording artist David Toop. Also featured are various drum, vocal and ambient multitracks on Side 4.

Back in 1980, Eno and Byrne were fomenting musical evolution, but wound up triggering a sonic revolution. With My Life in the Bush of Ghosts they had stumbled onto the future.

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered

LP 1

1. America Is Waiting
2. Mea Culpa
3. Regiment
4. Help Me Somebody
5. The Jezebel Spirit
6. Very, Very Hungry
7. Moonlight In Glory
8. The Carrier
9. A Secret Life
10. Come With Us
11. Mountain of Needles
LP 2
1. Pitch to Voltage
2. Two Against Three
3. Vocal Outtakes
4. New Feet
5. Defiant
6. Number 8 Mix
7. Solo Guitar With Tin Foil
8. Help Me Somebody (drum track)
9. Help Me Somebody (vocal track)
10. Help Me Somebody (ambient track)
11. A Secret Life (drum track)
12. A Secret Life (vocal track)
13. A Secret Life (ambient track)

Customers Also Like