Bud Shank Barefoot Adventure Hybrid Stereo SACD

Bud Shank

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Audiophile Hybrid Stereo SACD!
Mastered with the Original Analog Master Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Impex Records is pleased to announce a new, audiophile SACD/Hybrid release of Bud Shank's pivotal 1961 classic, Barefoot Adventure.

Featuring original compositions arranged by Shank for Bruce Brown's surf film of the same name, this is a swinging, hard-driving jazz session by six top-flight musicians at the height of their careers: Bud Shank (alto and baritone), Bob Cooper (tenor), Carmell Jones (trumpet), Dennis Budimir (guitar), Gary Peacock (bass), Shelly Manne (drums).

The original Pacific Jazz recording features excellent sonics and showcases Shank at his most adventurous, playing with an advanced confidence and sophistication.

Our deluxe SACD/Hybrid disc uses the original 1961 analog master to highlight the warm sound and natural dynamics of the vinyl release and includes a 12-page booklet that artfully highlights the notes and photography from the original album release.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • Designed to Play on Standard CD Players, SACD Players & Other SACD-Capable Players
  • Mastered with the Original Analog Master Tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • 12-Page Booklet with Notes & Photography from the Original Album Release
  • Disc Made in Germany
  • Packaged in USA


Bud Shank alto and baritone
Bob Cooper tenor
Carmell Jones trumpet
Dennis Budimir guitar
Gary Peacock bass
Shelly Manne drums


  1. Barefoot Adventure
  2. Shoeless Beach Meeting
  3. Jungle Cruise
  4. How High the Makaha
  5. Well, 'pon My Soul
  6. Ala Moana
  7. Bruce Is Loose
  8. Dance of the Sea Monsters

Customers Also Like