Genre: Pop Rock


Calling Cadence Calling Cadence CD

Calling Cadence

$9.99 $15.99
(You save $6.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Self-Titled Debut Album on CD!
Featuring "Throw My Body", "Just The Way It Goes", "California Bartender" & More!
Includes 3 Additional Songs!

Calling Cadence is a rare band in our increasingly digital world: they have recorded their intriguing new album all-analog without a single computer. This "old school" approach provides a listening experience unlike anything else in modern rock today.

Calling Cadence the album's debut single, "Throw My Body", is a powerhouse of musicality, swirling late '70s rock, soul, and modern pop into an intoxicating blend of California summer bliss. Calling Cadence is made up of singer/guitarist/songwriter Oscar Bugarin and vocalist Rae Cole, with accompaniment by a wrecking crew of West Coast studio pros that represent the foundation of the Los Angeles music scene. This combination of authentic vibe and analog warmth makes Calling Cadence an instant American classic album.

This is an authentic, full-analog recording. Entire songs are performed almost entirely live to tape. Though live analog recording is a more challenging process, doing so here was a conscious decision made by the band and producers David Swartz and Matt Linesch (of the famed Hi-Res Music label) because of the incredible caliber of musicianship, as well as the studio being a full-analog facility. Recorded on 2" magnetic tape through a Studer A827 tape machine, then mixed analog through a 1972 API console through a world-class collection of outboard gear and effects, the tracks were finally mixed down to ¼" magnetic tape on an Ampex ATR 102 tape machine.

Not just another "stuffy audiophile reissue," Calling Cadence is a rocking, soulful trip full of evocative lyrics, earworm hooks, and a retro vibe perfect for the lovers of '70s music and modern vinyl music. For the ultimate experience of this music, pick up the vinyl. It is unlike any you have ever heard in contemporary music.

Playing either the CD or LP rewarded me with some of the cleanest, most dynamic sound I've heard lately. The music didn't disappoint, either... it's a smorgasbord of folk, rock, soul, punk, jazz and country with easy-to-digest attitude and gotcha hooks. All that, coupled with the extremely high level of musicianship, makes the end product easily absorbed... When I tire of electronica and hard bop, I will reach for this album and bask in its musical sophistication, straightforward vocals, instrumental cohesion and sonic excellence.
-Guy Lemcoe, The Audio Beat, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5 Read more!
The band casts a large net and has clearly soaked up inspiration from a disparate cross-section of some all-timers while forging their own sound that could sit comfortably next to Chris Stapleton ('Took a Chance') or... Michael frigging Jackson ('This Time'). There's Memphis Soul, and A.M. Gold in them hills too. A veritable smorgasbord of sonic exploration and goodness. Whatever you want. There's something here for everyone.
-Jason Crawford, SECRETS of Home Theater and High Fidelity Read more!
It's about as 'how-they-used-to-do-it' as you could get, and you can tell. It's warm, it's punchy, it has a vibe, it feels alive
-Andy Riesmeyer, KTLA


  • CD
  • Recorded, Mixed & Mastered to Analog Tape
  • Engineered & Mixed by Matt Linesch
  • Mastered by Reuben Cohen at Lurssen Mastering, Burbank, CA
  • Produced by Matt Linesch & David Swartz
  • Cardboard Mini LP Gatefold Jacket
  • Booklet with Lyrics
  • 3 Additional Songs
  • Printed in the USA


  1. Throw My Body
  2. Good Day
  3. Just The Way It Goes
  4. Burn These Blues
  5. California Bartender
  6. Took A Chance
  7. Dancin'
  8. King
  9. This Time
  10. So Far Away
  11. I Don't Know Why
  12. Little Angel
  13. Enough
  14. Rosie
  15. Wasn't It Good

Customers Also Like