Genre: Pop Rock


Carly Simon Hotcakes Numbered Limited Edition Hybrid Stereo SACD

Carly Simon

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited Edition Hybrid SACD from Mobile Fidelity! Mastered from the Original Master Tapes!

1974’s Platinum Hotcakes Captures Carly Simon in Playful, Blissful, and Domestic Moods

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Excellent-Sounding Mobile Fidelity Hotcakes SACD Resonates With Newfound Nuances, Warmth, and Soulfulness

Includes Smash Duet “Mockingbird” With James Taylor and Contributions From Musical Icons Robbie Robertson, Michael Brecker, Bucky Pizzarelli, Dr. John, and More

Carly Simon found a peaceful, happy place when she made 1974’s platinum-selling Hotcakes. Aptly depicted on the cover smiling, radiant, and pregnant, the singer evolved from a jet-setting lifestyle into one marked by domestic bliss thanks to her recent marriage to James Taylor and decision to settle down. Simon’s refreshed perspective and feel-good moods define the autobiographical Hotcakes, a homespun celebration of bucolic delights and simple pleasures performed with utmost sincerity and sweetness. In addition to spawning two hit singles, the record marks Simon and Taylor’s attempt to begin an artistic franchise together.

Mastered from the original master tapes, Mobile Fidelity’s numbered limited-edition hybrid SACD delivers Hotcakes in audiophile-quality sonics that enhance the laidback music’s warmth, innocence, and sentimentality. Coming from a tranquil place, Simon’s voice emerges with terrific ease, composure, and contentment. Surrounded by ravishing instrumental and jazz-based blends that, thanks to added detail and clearer tones, feel more joyous and spirited than on any prior pressing, Simon’s words take on a reassuring quality conveyed by the best singer-songwriter albums of the era. Consider this stellar-sounding reissue the equivalent of a crackling fireplace on a winter night. Such is the level of coziness and amiability provided.

Largely based around Simon’s feelings and experiences before giving birth, Hotcakes wonderfully channels a prevailing attitude during the mid-70s that found many people returning to the basics and getting back in touch with familial surroundings after the upheaval following the end of the Sixties. Simon’s first three albums captured this transition in frank, feminist-inspired, take-no-muss fashion. On Hotcakes, her fourth and second consecutive platinum-selling set, she both reflected and led the dominant spirit of the time, delivering with nursery-rhyme purity and soothing tenderness playful songs about homey euphoria and marital glee.

Anchored by the duet with her then-partner James Taylor, “Mockingbird,” a cover that the power couple took into the Top Five, Hotcakes shuns any tension or negativity in favor of optimism, intimacy, and tranquility. Standout fare such as “I Think I’m Gonna Have a Baby” and the Simon-Taylor penned “Forever My Love” testify on behalf of personal bonds and the importance of love. Similarly, “Mind on My Man,” the husband-focused “Misfit,” and humorous “Safe and Sound”—a theme-setting opener that describes much of the world in disarray but which maintains all is fine as long as Simon has her soulmate—speak on behalf of the artist's new priorities and the gravity of strong relationships.

Musically, Hotcakes is appointed with first-rate session work from a stream of Hall of Fame-worthy instrumentalists. Robbie Robertson, Michael Brecker, Bucky Pizzarelli, Dr. John, and Taylor are among the guests gracing the arrangements with nimble touches and heartfelt accents indicative of Simon’s emotionalism. Factor in the tasteful horn sections, excellent backing vocal tracks, and producer Richard Perry’s illustrative orchestrations, and Hotcakes may reign as Simon’s finest-ever studio hour.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Mastered From Original Master Tapes

1. Safe And Sound
2. Mind On My Man
3. Think I’m Gonna Have A Baby
4. Older Sister
5. Just Not True
6. Hotcakes
7. Misfit
8. Forever My Love
9. Mockingbird
10. Grownup
11. Haven’t Got Time For The Pain

Customers Also Like