Genre: Jazz
Label: Legacy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Cassandra Wilson Coming Forth by Day 180g 2LP

Cassandra Wilson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Double LP Pays Homage to Billie Holiday!

An otherworldly musical homage to legendary jazz vocalist Billie Holiday (born Eleanor Fagan on April 7, 1915) on the 100th anniversary of the singer's birth, Coming Forth By Day is Cassandra Wilson's moody, soulful showcase for contemporary yet timeless interpretations of standards associated with Lady Day. Coming Forth By Day was produced by Nick Launay, known as Nick Cave's producer for a decade among many other adventurous credits.

The album features 11 re-interpretations of standards associated with Lady Day plus an original penned by Cassandra Wilson - the dream-like "Last Song (For Lester)," imagined as a heartbreaking final message from Billie to her musical love, Lester Young. (Upon getting the news that Young had passed away, Billie flew straight from overseas to his funeral but was denied the opportunity to sing by Young's family and was distraught).

"Cassandra Wilson is one of the world's most elegant and tasteful artists. Her decision to channel the spirit of Billie Holiday on her new album is a perfect complement to Legacy's plans for celebrating Lady Day's centennial," said Adam Block. "It's an absolute treat to work with Cassandra in the realization of this unexpected and sublimely beautiful music."

Wilson recorded Coming Forth By Day in Los Angeles at Seedy Underbelly studios with an A list musical team including producer Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire), guitarists T Bone Burnett, and Nick Zinner of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, string arranger Van Dyke Parks, and rhythm section The Bad Seeds (drummer Thomas Wydler and bassist Martyn P. Casey).

"A dream of mine is happening," said Cassandra Wilson, "I've been in love with Billie Holiday's voice since the moment I heard it, and she has inspired me throughout my career."

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Don't Explain
2. Billie's Blues
3. Crazy He Calls Me
LP 1 - Side B:
1. You Go To My Head
2. All of Me
3. The Way You Look Tonight

LP 2 - Side C:
1. Good Morning Heartache
2. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
3. These Foolish Things
LP 2 - Side D:
1. Strange Fruit
2. I'll Be Seeing You
3. Last Song (For Lester)

Customers Also Like